Five MORE Unusual Gifts for the Man in Your Life (a list continued)

6.  The proverbial hot-air balloon ride.  This can be the perfect gift or a real disaster.  I’ve heard both stories, so I’ve actually not done this yet.  But this time of year they are usually on sale, and drifting over snow-covered country landscape sounds like a dream. Cold temperatures make for greater lift and quicker response of the balloon.  But it will be colder – a lot colder.  Bring lots of hot cocoa, hats and gloves, and even face protectors. Have someone down below taking  pictures or video for images on next year’s Christmas cards.  Guys love adventure, so even though this is a romantic gesture, it can also be one scary, fun ride.

7.  I’m reaching here, but I’ve done this.  Have a star named for him.  Most guys have galactic-sized egos, and the guy I gave this to (way before I got married) LOVED it.  Just know that his star won’t be recognized by the International Astronomical Union.  This is really a novelty item, like a pet rock.  However, guys don’t care because it’s something they can frame and put on their man cave wall.  Note:  Read THIS.

8.  Have a sports figure autograph a book for your guy.  Actually my husband drove to D.C. during Tony Kornheiser’s sports radio show and waited beyond the glass window hoping to get TK’s latest book autographed for my birthday.  When Tony found out it was for a “female fan,” he invited him into the studio, offered him food, and signed a long and very interesting note in the book.  I am a big Kornheiser fan, and this was one of MY favorite gifts.  But then I am a sports freak, so many of you ladies might not see the value of such a gift.  A man would love it!

9. Make him a scrapbook.  OK, now I’ve lost my credibility here, but believe me when I say how much fun this can be.  Scrapbooks can be found in leather and with black pages so they’re masculine looking.  Bring down that box from the top shelf in his closet, the one with all the concert tickets and tokens and matchbooks and pictures.   He may want to do this alone, but he also may want your help.  Put the scrapbook together and if he chooses, write what he says about those scraps of paper and photos.  Try and put them in order.  Make it as interesting on paper as it is in his explanation.  Most guys haven’t a clue about scrapbooking, and most women do.  Share your expertise and clean up his closet at the same time.

10.  And speaking of the box on the top shelf of his closet, I have saved my best present for last.  Write him a letter.  It took several days to write mine and it was a gift for Valentine’s Day.  It’s not the holiday that’s important though.  It’s the thought.  I wrote page after page of WHY I love him. I wrote about everything he does right.  I wrote of every feature about him I love.  I reminisced about times we’d spent together and how he’d made them so special for me and how I loved him for it.  I wrote about his courage. I wrote about his style.  I wrote about how so many of my friends have complemented me for finding such a great guy.  I wrote of women I knew who had a crush on him.  I remarked about and gave examples of his intellect.  I wrote a lot about how he changed my life and how I couldn’t imagine life without him.   I wrote how I am a better person because of him and what he’s taught me.  Any one of the lines in my letter would stand alone as a great gift.  But taken as a whole he said it was the nicest gift he’d ever received. I let him read it alone, but when he finished I noticed tears in his eyes.  I would like to say that this was my idea, but in truth I found it in an article in Victoria Magazine many, many years ago, and the idea stayed with me.  It’s been over ten years since I wrote that letter.  I think it might be time for me to write another one, and maybe this is as good a time as any.   Your man will cherish your letter forever, and clearly it will get its own page in his scrapbook, or more likely in that box on the top shelf of his closet.

Good Luck, and Happy Holidays.  And in case you missed them, here are the first five.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five MORE Unusual Gifts for the Man in Your Life (a list continued)

  1. Cubbyholes says:

    These are great ideas and very much out of the box. Did you know you can have a flag flown at the White House in someone’s honor? They change the flag several times a day to fit in quite a few. My dad had one flown for him and then they sent him the flag. When he died we buried him under that flag.

    The letter is a really wonderful idea. We were going through a rough patch about 15 years ago and the pastor we were seeing for marriage counseling had us each buy a small notebook, Every single day we were to write what we liked/loved/appreciated about our mate. We were to keep this little diary for 2 months. It wasn’t easy, since there were days you were doing it when you were mad at each other, specially since you read what you wrote about the other before going to bed.

    Also, most museums have their gift shops online now, like moma.com, etc. If you are married to an artsy fartsy sort you can get some really unique items that you won’t find elsewhere.

    Thanks for the ideas!
    Jeanie

    • Thank you Jeanie: I’d totally forgotten about museum gift shops. The Smithsonian has a great one as well. Do you know I’ve never been to MoMA….how is that possible? The flag is a phenomenal idea. Sounds like you might want to write a quick post of these ideas, and others I’m sure you have, on your own blog to share before Christmas.

      That “letter” comes in handy now and then. I remember one HUGE fight we had and when he went to bed (in the guest room) and I went to our bedroom, the letter I’d written him was on my pillow. Of course that made our fight seem silly, and we immediately made up. I have a bunch of romantic cards he’s sent me over the years. I keep them for such emergencies as well.

      Happy Holidays. I’ll be watching for your next post. Patsye

Leave a Reply

