Will Blogs Replace the Christmas Card?

I got my second Christmas card today.  It’s the 17th of December and I should have a mantle full of them by now.  Each year they diminish in number, along with those fascinating Christmas “letters” that keep me up to date on who went where, who graduated, and whose grand niece had twins. I’m wondering if it’s the price of postage, or could it be that everyone has a blog and instead has been writing the Christmas letter all year.  Facebook aside, because I don’t have a Facebook account, I think by this time of year, I’m well-versed on everyone’s life, and everyone is well-versed on mine.  Well, almost everyone.

But personally I miss those letters.  I like the holiday stationery they are printed on, and I enjoy the pictures of the kids.  Some of my grandparent friends don’t like putting their grandchildren’s photos online, and I don’t blame them, so they regularly include snaps of themselves with the children.  To be honest, and I’m letting the cat out of the bag here, I don’t keep those photos forever.

The Christmas letter I got today hit a new low.  It was from an old friend who “doesn’t use the Internet.”  I’ve spoken with her several times this year and knew everything in the letter, except the part about re-doing the drywall in the garage.  Now that’s digging for something to write about.  Kind of like this post.

So am I going to write a Christmas Letter Blog about my year?  No.  Everything interesting about me has already been written and can be found in “Chronicles of Patsye.” Actually I’ve never written a Christmas letter with my cards, and have chosen instead to just pick up the phone.

I see the day when there will be no Christmas cards at all.  I might even see the day of no postal service.  That would be a shame because I have several friends my age who don’t “use the Internet.”

Happy Holidays.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Will Blogs Replace the Christmas Card?

  1. Jill says:

    Yeah, I read in a magazine that sending Christmas cards via the internet was “green.” Meanwhile, scrapbooking and journaling are huge hits right now. Think of all the paper used for this new art form! I love getting and receiving cards; it’s practically the only time throughout the year I get an actual hand-written card. Then again, lots of the cards I get now are simply photos with pre-typed general messages, “Merry Christmas, Love the ____ Family”. Not even a real signature!

  2. How ever much I love snail mail, my small income (or lack thereof actually) keeps me from sending letters as much as I used to.
    This year, I decided to send out handmade cards and small gifts in October, since that was the Month of Love Letters in the Love Project I’m doing, and also because that way I could avoid the cost of mailing them in December…

  3. lelia says:

    I, too, miss the holiday greeting cards; tho, this year have not mailed out as many. IMO – people are busy, perhaps it is easier to text, e-mail, or blog (facebook, etc.) to keep in touch. Instead of annual news … there is anytime news, humor, sharing.

    For me there is joy in hearing from family/friends via cards, snail mail … and also via cyber land.

    Sorry, link in my post failed.
    Here is a link to Amazon that I hope works:
    http://www.amazon.com/Lucet-Braiding-Variations-Renaissance-Cord/dp/1891656066

  4. Cubbyholes says:

    Well….. as a matter of fact….the PO is letting thousands of employees go.

    “…asking lawmakers to lift the requirement that the agency deliver mail six days a week. If the change happens, that doesn’t necessarily mean an end to Saturday mail delivery. Previous post office studies have looked at the possibility of skipping some other day when mail flow is light, such as Tuesday.”

    They are in a losing position unfortunately. Between fax machines, email, blogs, handheld scanners, tablets and iphones there is little you can’t get to someone within moments. They even are using more electronic signatures and even have software that uses your own actual signature to use online as opposed to just typing your name out. It costs nothing to send things out electronically. I mean sending out my book with all 350+ pages would cost me a ludicrous fortune, but I can email it for free. The PO just can’t compete anymore.

    And their prices go up and up on sending packages, then they have to compete with shipping companies (ie: fedex, ups, all the packaging stores). So they aren’t going to compete there either. I honestly think that in the future the PO will become little more than another FedEx or UPS store. Used for shipping or sending certain types of documents, but little else.

  5. I think the cost of postage will kill the cards before the Internet does. What’s a stamp up too -43 cents I think? I know I spent around $16 for two books of stamps, plus add the cost of the cards itself too. It can get expensive. For some, that might be too much to handle. I know I had to cut back this year.

  6. cruberg says:

    I have found that since having a little one, sending Christmas cards has been a priority on my Christmas list. I don’t get them out “early”, in fact, I just sent them this past Thursday because I happened to get off work early. However, every one of the 25 cards I sent had a personal message written in it and a picture of our family. I love receiving mail, especially Christmas letters, and feel it’s only fair that I should be sending out what I hope (not expect) to receive in return. And, I have to say, many of my friends are good at reciprocating; I received 4 cards with special messages in them this past week. Perhaps we should swap addresses? Here’s hoping you get some letters that were delayed by the Christmas mail rush 🙂 Merry Christmas!

    • Hey, Hi! It’s good to hear from you. Merry Christmas, and I’m with you. I love receiving mail. How are you? How do you feel? When are you going to be blogging – or are you going to be blogging? I MISS you. Patsye

      • cruberg says:

        Hi Patsye,
        I’m finally off for the Christmas holidays from teaching, and have been feeling much MUCH better since the stress of work and the fact that we sold our house and bought a home is now under wraps. I am hoping to blog a few times in the next week or so; I’ve been painting! And it has been feeling wonderful 🙂 I am hoping to be back blogging in full swing come February / March. Making a few extra dollars in January by going back to work a bit longer is the plan, but I’ll have to see how I’m feeling. I so loved this post by the way, in fact, a few of my friends have be face-booking about the same sentiment – missing the fact that they sent out cards, and are not getting any back. It’s sad!

  7. I didn’t send as many this year, but I have made more phone calls. I have a mantel full of beautiful cards from old friends which is really appreciated. Speaking of letters.. I so wish I had kept the one letter I get every year from an old friend..they are so full of mundane daily events that they are actually funny enough to publish. I really don’t care how many times they cut the lawn! I don’t care their granddaughter got her license. End of rant heeeeee ho ho ho

  8. Sue McB says:

    I have to confess that for the last few years I have bought cards, new ones of course because those bought last year no longer appealed, and have not sent them. I think I have three year’s worth sitting in my desk drawer. No valid reason – all the usual ones I guess – too busy, no time, boring to write all that stuff again and again, cost of postage for 50+ cards, why send a card to someone you see regularly, etc etc. I usually end up sending an email to all in my Contact list……..a bit like those letters…..so yes, I think technology has killed the card which is a shame as they are lovely to receive and to know someone went to the trouble of so doing.

    • Like “Video Killed the Radio Star” (remember that song?), you are right about technology. But that shouldn’t stop us. I’m now motivated to send out some cards, even if they’ll arrive late. It’s the thought that counts!!

Leave a Reply

