Let The Games Begin

Hum.  2012.  My personal goal is to make it the best year of my life.  However, the pundits, prognosticators, proselytizers, and purveyors of everything from oil to oranges will do their best to see this does not happen.

First of all, I’m either too smart or too stupid to imagine any President can change anything (except perhaps through a Supreme Court appointment, which is really a nomination and can change a lot of things) around this do-nothing government unless we purge both houses of the sitting Congress, Republicans and Democrats alike. I would like to see this country go to a Parliamentary system of government.  At least then something would get done whether we liked it or not.  We are a Republic, not a Democracy, and if we keep these shenanigans going, we’re headed into some dark days, which, if you know your history, have happened before.

Yes, the weather is changing, and I do believe if we don’t stop dumping carbon into the atmosphere, there could be a dramatic change in weather patterns that will greatly affect our food and water supplies.  La Nina and El Nino are fickle.  If we are causing this with our industrialized lifestyle, I would hope someone could put the brakes on before we destroy this beautiful planet.

I don’t think the world is going to end this year.  I took Statistics and realize you can make numbers say just about anything you want.  After all, the Mayans didn’t invent time, so their calendar has ended and restarted an untold number of times before and the world is still here.  I doubt you will find me hoarding baked beans.  If they are right, and I am wrong, I’d be happy to go first.

And I bought a Prius.  That’s the best I can do for the environment while snubbing my nose at big oil. I drive it so little I can go almost a month on a tank of gas.  I have the cheapest cell service; I have never once texted anything to anyone; and I’m not on Facebook.  Wordpress is one-stop shopping for my need to broadcast my words and pictures.  If you can’t find me here, please look in your mailbox.

I don’t have even one pay channel on my TV.  I got rid of 3G for my IPad.  I recycle everything.  I “print” very little; mostly coupons.  I’m a thrift shopper/”yardsailer,” but frankly I’m consuming very little these days.  I have entered the age of austerity, by choice and by need, and it feels pretty good.

So I look forward to all my friends here showing me how to grow my own everything (just as soon as I leave this golf course home) on my own plot of land.  I dream of sprouting seeds and the smell of spring.  I’m ready to make candles and applesauce and face soap and learn to do most things for myself.

My efforts have lowered my total cholesterol almost 40 points with flax seed and not using butter or eating ice-cream, and I’m going to be vigilant as holy heck to see that I don’t go there again.  I am going to walk and golf and swim my way through 2012.  I’m going to stay in touch with my friends and the world more often.  I’m going to punch needle myself into oblivion and hopefully get on one of those pattern places to sell my little designs.  And if my husband has any control over our lives, whatsoever, we are MOVING!  And that, in and of itself, will make my year fantastic!

Best Wishes to everyone for this New Year.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Let The Games Begin

  1. Katharine says:

    Happy New Year!
    So much of your vision aligns with mine – handmade and homegrown.
    Please tell me you are moving to the Northeast! I would love to be your neighbor!

  2. cubbyholes says:

    Wow you have so much planned! I plan until about… two days from now and that’s as far as I get. lol
    I love the cartoon. I think its bogus, too. I mean the calendar, heck all calendars, end at some point, so what? The entire civilization ended, so of course their calendars did too, doh.
    I’m a consumer…of certain things. I’m a techno junkie and we’re dumping the land line phone for cell phones. A LOT cheaper.
    Got Wi-fi this Christmas to go with sweeties new smartphone and my new Nook. yay!
    I plan on a garden this year, but not too big. Hard for me to do as much gardening as I used to do.
    Let me know when you want to make soap and I’ll put up my soap directions. We only use handmade soap. 😉
    Candles are not hard, just messy. Use soy though if you are concientious about your environment.
    Doesn’t matter if we clean out the congress and Houses if we don’t change the rules in them. I mean a paycheck for life even when you leave? Lifetime appts? I honestly don’t think anything is going to change unless there is a total breakdown first. Scary, but really I think a revolution is the best thing that could happen in the long run.
    Cheery thoughts. LOL
    Happy New Year all!
    Just don’t disappear from here, woman!
    Jeanie

  3. Ha! Love that Mayan drawing, very plausible 🙂
    And I really like your take on this, 2012 is just another year, one we should all do our best to make the best one possible. Just like 2011 before this, and then 2013 after that.

    Happy homemade/handmade/homegrown 2012 🙂

  4. Jill says:

    I agree! Wouldn’t it be great to completely empty out the government and start fresh with people who believe in this country instead of worrying about their own asses? And a gov’t regulated by people who must conform to the SAME LAWS they expect the rest of us to obey. Wishful thinking.

    And yes, I try to stay off any kinds of News because it’s ALL gloom and doom. The govt doesn’t control the US, the MEDIA does.

    Great for you for all your goals! Kids just went back to school today and I spent the day running errands and now am getting ready to pick them up, make supper, help with homework, you the routine! Will try to call you this week. Is there a best time or day?

  5. Grainne says:

    Happy New Year! 🙂 xx
    Grainne

  6. Northern Narratives says:

    Happy 2012. I hope you can make a garden this year 🙂

Leave a Reply

