Cosmic Kitty Punch Needle Clutch Purse

Had I not changed the design twenty times, along with the colors, I might have finished this sooner.  But finished it is, and it’s the last of the designs I am going to put up on this blog.  Instead, I’m going to start another blog, or website, under a different name.  I have had enough letters and comments saying that these would adapt well to needlepoint, punch needle, cross stitch, felting, and even beading with peyote stitch, so I will leave that up to the crafter to decide what to do with my patterns.  I’ve ordered a bolt of weavers cloth for stamped punch needle designs, and familiarized myself with pixelizing them on paper for other needlework methods.  Now I just have to finish (start, really) the website, get the patterns printed, and yada, yada, yada.

Who knew I had a hundred designs just waiting to be sketched, and I think of new ones daily.  I’d start one, get another idea, jot it down, and before I knew it I was sketching four or five a night.  You can’t imagine how fun this is, or how addictive.  But the best part of punch needle is how fast it is.  The hard part is getting the right colors.  The innovative part is finding applications:  purses, coasters, hot pads, cup surrounds, decoration for hats, cuffs, jumpers, check covers, wallets, eyeglass cases, and inserts for just about anything.  My favorite so far, jewelry!  THIS is what I love about punch needle: LATITUDE.

Once the link is open, I hope that anyone visiting here will visit there.  And if you know of someone who might be interested in trying this art form, please send them my way. I’ve worked through this skill, and have incorporated many ideas and helpful hints in my patterns that will make it a fun experience for all who want to learn.

Now it’s back to those Alphabet Textile Pages…  My website will open in April.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Needle Punch, Needlework, Punch Needle, Textile Art, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cosmic Kitty Punch Needle Clutch Purse

  1. I really like that one even though I’m so not a cat person. (I am a grey person though.) Of course I’ve liked all your needle punch work.

  2. Jill says:

    So very folk-arty! The colors all complement each other and it’s all so very….scrumpsh!

  3. I love this! Here’s another idea for your patterns – bead looms! I may be using a few of them for that purpose.

  4. cubbyholes says:

    I can’t wait to visit the new site. I think it’s a great idea to spread your wings and your talent around. You better send me that new addy! 😉
    Jeanie

  5. Absolutely Bonnie. I will. I’ve been thinking about you and wondering how you’re doing. …hoping you are not too overwhelmed by the work ahead of you. You will get things in order soon, and you’ll be back at the machine yourself, cranking out your lovely art textiles. Where’s YOUR blog? You need one so everyone can see how talented YOU are! Thanks for the nice comments, and call me when you can. Patsye

  6. Bonita "Bonnie" Srnick says:

    With all of your busy-ness and creativity, please add us to your list – let us, your public, know the address for your new up-coming site and when we can go there with you. You are quite simply put- amazing; and, I am truly happy that I was fortunate enought to meet you in person – where else but the bookstore.

    Jacksonville Bonnie

Leave a Reply

