What’s That Smell?

I keep running out of purple thread, and today was the third time I headed out to buy more for my present punch needle project. This time I bought enough to last me until the next millennium, or at least until next week.  But something strange has been going on with my nose today.  And yesterday, and the day before.

I’m smelling flowers.

At first I thought it was my imagination because of all this chat about moving and having my own garden.  Even my new banner says “Think Spring.”  But I could definitely smell them on my shirt on Saturday.  It’s not my perfume, but could certainly be someone elses, so I spent some time thinking who I’d run into and whether I hugged them or not.

Then I went out yesterday and and really smelled them in my car.  The scent was so strong, I was looking under the seat to see if my husband was hiding a present for me (in my car????), like perfume for Valentine’s Day and somehow the bottle got broken.  But no, nothing there.  Then I thought it was coming from the trunk of the car which is accessible from the back seat.  Yes.  Absolutely.  The scent was strong in that area, but there was nothing back there to account for it.

So this morning I had an errand and the minute I opened the door to the garage I’m smelling flowers, big time.  Now I’m really thinking I’ve gone mad, and the old wive’s tale of smelling flowers just before you die is dancing in and out of my thoughts, along with what kind of bacterial infection could be in my sinuses that would make me be smelling flowers.

Finally, at the very second I’m completely stumped, I look down at the recycle bin and see a bright orange box that once housed packages of Bounce fabric softener sheets.  I’d been given the box to hold my groceries when last at Costco (hence the scent on my shirt from carrying the box to the car).  And I transported it home in the trunk, and then stuck the box into the recycle bin.  But this empty box smells so good, I’m tempted to buy a package of Bounce and place the sheets in drawers and under furniture to make my whole house smell this way.

So I promptly put the box back in my car, and I will wait patiently for this delicious scent to eventually dissipate, though I can not imagine how long this will take given the pungency of the box, and then I will march right back down to Costco and grab the first Bounce box I see in that big box bin and start the process all over again.  Recycling fragrances…that’s a first for me.

 

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Needle Punch, Punch Needle, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What’s That Smell?

  1. Grainne says:

    That was so funny Patsye! I bought vanilla scented dryer sheets for the first time ever (like to stick with my usual brand, but I was feeling like a change). I can’t stop sniffing my towels, smells so good. Hubby came in yesterday while I had my face shoved into a clean bath towel and he thought I was crying. Nope. Just smelling the laundry…:S

  2. Maxine Cook says:

    Fabric softeners contain chemicals (like chloroform, benzyl acetate and pentane) that are known to cause cancer and/or damage to lungs, brain, and nerves. These chemicals are even more dangerous when heated in clothes dryers. The toxic fumes then go into neighborhood air and everyone for blocks around is forced to breathe them in. These chemicals are made to stay in clothes fibers and slowly release for a very long time. That slow release of chemicals into the air affects the health of those wearing the clothes and of people around them.

    I worked in an office where they sprayed a dilute strength of Downey on the carpets to stop static cling and electric shocks during the dry-air days of winter. It caused health problems for several employees. I stopped using fabric softeners and other fragrances in my home many years ago.

    Get rid of that box Patsye…

    • You know Max, I was afraid of something like this, but since I didn’t have the “ingredients” or “contents” information because this was the shipping box, I didn’t get to look it over. It just smelled so good.

      But you are right, and I value your opinion more than most others, so I’m going to look this up and do a second post. Thanks for having my back, as they say. And how the heck are you anyhow? I miss your posts, but am happy to know that you still read me. I visit your site often, but you have been working too hard….

      Thanks again. Patsye

  3. Many times in the winter when I’m outside, I can tell that the neighbors drying their clothes from the lovely scent coming from their dryer vent. I want to knock on their door and ask what kind of fabric softener they are using because it smells so good!

    I made the mistake of using a clean linen cloth I had sitting next to the Bounce box to roll a cake for a “jellyroll” type dessert. The cake smelled great but didn’t taste real good. Lesson learned. Those perfumes are POWERFUL!

    • They must be powerful because now the garage smell is coming in the house every time we open the door. I guess it could be worse. We could be smelling the kitty litter box.

      I wonder what it is that is so pungent???

      That’s a funny story about the jelly roll cake. What a waste! But still funny!!!

  4. cubbyholes says:

    At least your mystery smell was a good one! We had one too and it was awffffffful. It took us 2 weeks to find the dead rat UNDER our furnace. LOL. You may want to hint to the hubby that you thought he got you something and hid it. Maybe he’ll take the hint
    Jeanie

    • Oh no! I had a gerbil as a pet once, a million years ago, and it got loose and I could hear it scratching and trying to make its way back to its cage, but however he got in the wall, he couldn’t find his way out. It must have been near my bed because I smelled him for almost a week. Yuck.

  5. Northern Narratives says:

    Great post and so funny. I really like the idea of your husband hiding a gift in your car 🙂

    • Yes, it would have been great if he had actually done that. He’s not much of a surpriser, but I have to admit he’ll get me anything I ask for. Besides, who needs perfume when there’s Bounce!

Leave a Reply

