Punch Needle Prospects

Because I’ve spent so much time working on these patterns, I thought I’d pop over to Ebay and see how business is doing in the punch-needle sector of our economy.

There were 1472 punch needle items listed today, Friday the 13th.  I arranged them into a descending list of “ending soonest.”  I managed to scroll through 400 of them at 200 a page.  Of those, only 11 had bids. There were four other auctions with bids, but they were either miscategorized or were in fact leather punching kits.  Of the 11, virtually all were either “finished” punch needle projects OR punch needle supplies.  Not one pattern had a bid. Besides the other math involved, the most important is that I would have a 0:400 chance of selling a pattern on Ebay today. I am hoping this is a bad sample.

So I swung over to PatternMart. com.  There were 78 patterns for punch needle, but there was no way to determine how many were sold today.  Indeed, there is no way of knowing if any of these patterns have ever been sold.

Being a glutton for punishment, I went to Etsy, which is purported to host upwards of 400,000 sellers.  There were 564 punch needle items, mostly patterns, but also tools and accessories. Here too there was no way to identify what items, if any, were sold on this day.

It does not bode well for punch needle patterns.  And frankly, it does not bode well for anyone or anything on any of these sites.  Can there be such a thing as too much competition?  I think there can.  Whereas when the market price is driven down by high supply and low demand for consumables I need, I consider it a good thing.  But when the bottom falls out of the punch needle patterns (and single family homes) market because of the glut, that is a bad thing.  We’re definitely in a punch needle pattern recession. And there is no doubt about the housing crisis.

OK, silly analogies aside, things don’t look good for me and my new venture.  However, because I enjoy the activity of creating these, I’m just going to keep on designing them and hope for a change in demand.  In the meantime, I will do my part to pique new punch needle interest by writing about the art form, putting up a little history now and then, and instead of hiding my designs, keep showing them along with ideas about how to use them.

It is Friday the 13th after all, and as a paraskevidekatriaphobic, I probably should not have looked all this information up today.  Honestly, I was just taking a break from my online testing for those Rn CEU’s.  Bad call.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Needle Punch, Needlework, Punch Needle, Textile Art, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Punch Needle Prospects

  1. cubbyholes says:

    It’s very difficult to sell things these days. I sell handmade jewelry and noone is doing what I do in my area and though I do make sales in town, it’s still a very tough market with so many other jewelers around. I didn’t even do any shows this year because we seemed to spend more than we made most of the time. Hence, my putting them online again (I AM working on it I promise! LOL).

    I don’t advert on Etsy, though I did look into it and still may put one or two items up just to say I have an etsy store, but mostly I hope to spread through the i’net without etsy. This is for all the reasons you jsut stated. Etsy is fun to look at, but how many people really buy from it? They do what I do and look for inspiration if anything. There is just too many sellers on there and too much competition for me to believe that anyone really does well.

    I don’t really know the answer to this unfortunately. The sheer size of the i’net marketplace stacks against online sellers and makes it tough no matter what you are making/selling. I know I face the same situation, but I have them made, so I may as well try, Search engine presence is a main force for being seen and I’m going to be working hard on getting my blog/sale site seen on as many as I can. Dust off those meta tags!
    Jeanie

    • I think the answer will be service. Those with good service will prosper. Those who don’t, won’t. I’ve had another bad experience on the Internet; this time buying perfume. Ostensibly it was for a gift, but I might keep it just so I don’t have to go to the trouble of returning it. It didn’t come in the box it should have (I’ve bought this before) and the bottle was leaking into the plastic wrap and shipping box. The people are very nice, but shipping is the problem. Shipping breaks things, especially glass things.
      So it’s just a hassle to deal with something arriving when you’re not sure exactly what condition it will be in.

      Jewelry should ship just fine. The only problem there is that they get what they think they’re getting. Like does it look as good in real life as it does in the photo. Same thing with patterns. We can’t adjust the color on their computer screens.

      It’s a dilemma, but I wish you (and me) luck. Thanks for commenting.

  2. Hi Patsye
    I’ve been offline for a week, due to a spell in hospital for Pneumonia and I’m now in (very slow) catch -up mode for Blogs I follow.
    Firstly, I have been playing with Punch needle embroidery since about 1984 when I first “met” punch-needle in Malaysia.Since then I have tried out many types of punch, fabric and hoops.
    I keep returning to my Cathy Bates brand hoops in various sizes plus the square and oval hoops one uses to mount small pieces in.
    I don’t know if you are aware of Pamela Gurney (in Australia) She turns out some wonderful work/patterns/books and DVDs
    Check her out when you have time to spare!

    http://www.punchneedleembroidery.com/pages/default.cfm?page_id=41024

    • Thank you so much for this information. I already spend about 15 minutes there, signed up for the newsletter, and will definitely go back after breakfast. Thanks. I’m sending you an email. Patsye

  3. Maxine Cook says:

    Paraskevidekatriaphobia… Great word Patsye! I had to go listen to the pronunciation online. Not often I need to do that!

    Can your punch needle patterns be used in creations in another medium, say needlepoint? Just a thought…
    xo – Max

    • Yes Max. They can. And vice versa, but there’s a catch. Needlepoint is flat, so there’s no problem with each thread being level with the one next to it. Punch needle is a series of loops, and they tend to fall over and in between one another even if they are tightly set. I’m learning a way to deal with this but it’s a major nuance and I don’t know if others, as a general rule, will be able to unless they’re doing a lot of punching and get into the swing of it. It has to do with holding the loop you just punched aside with your fingernail while you punch the next one. It’s tricky, and dangerous given the size of the needle. But in doing this you can get extremely detailed. Thanks for stopping by. When is your next post? Patsye

Leave a Reply

