Sunspots Before My Eyes

NASA/SDO Image of 1/23/12 Solar Flare

There are people who actually think the world will end this year.  I’ve mentioned it before in my posts, always tongue in cheek; never giving it any credence while trying not to hurt a reader’s feelings. Now that it’s 2012, I have to admit:  I don’t believe any of it.

What I do believe, and there is scientific proof and documentable statistics on this, is that we are entering into a period of increased solar activity.  Scientists have been preparing for decades for just such potentially damaging events and hopefully this will suffice to protect not just our communication satellites but also our power grids.  I’m not really worried, but I have been keeping my computer off when I’m not using it since the most recent flare on Monday. We also installed new protectors that are deemed effective against the highly erratic power surges that plague our Florida home.

But, has anyone else noticed some funny business on the Internet lately?  There was not supposed to be any residual that we would notice, beyond the beautiful Northern Lights, from these encroaching protons, but the past day or so web pages have appeared skewed on my computer.  My Google Earth App was not working properly.  Websites which I visit often enough to know what they look like normally are coming up “different.” Pictures are missing.  Links are misplaced. Something is definitely weird.

I’ve tried using our other computer and even my Ipad, but the problems are uniform between them.   So is it solar flares?  Has anyone else noticed this?  Or is it my provider’s reception, or even something at Bing, my usual search engine?  I don’t know enough about computers to make an assumption.  Just curious if I’m the only one…

I’ll tell you what though.  All my completed Rn continuing education units are on this computer now, and if something happens to them, my world really WILL end.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunspots Before My Eyes

  1. maureenc says:

    Hey! Just an ordinary woman’s thoughts from the Land Downunder!
    There have been prophets of Doom and Gloom for so long, that it’s not worth worrying over.
    Whether it is a failure of the Mayan calendar, sunspots/storms going ballistic…
    I am sufficiently fatalistic to deal with that situation the same as I did two months ago when a physician warned me of the dangers of experiencing a CVA (Cerebral vascular accident, commonly referred to as a Stroke)
    When I spoke of the possibility of a plane crashing into my house or a large truck crashing into my house…….he declared I was facetious.
    Not so…….I am prepared to take educated chances.
    I am so tired of the “beat-ups” media serves to us mere mortals to stir an emotive response.
    Sun spots and solar storms have been there “forever”
    Unfortunately as Science (and Media) progresses so do the beat ups.

    • Happy Australia Day to you!!!!! And thanks for the comment which I agree with. There are so many things to worry about, it is the worrying that can be more dangerous than any of it. And yes, those solar storms have been around forever, but we haven’t had all those satellites forever, and a big storm could knock several of them out, setting a chain of events that could costs us all a lot of money. That’s my real worry.

  2. cubbyholes says:

    I wasn’t on my comp until right now (3:40am thursday morning) so I don’t know if there were problems. I didn’t hear about the flare but since I don’t watch the news either, that’s not surprising.

    I don’t believe it either. I mean for one thing, the mayan calendar ends. Well, doh, all things end at some point. Heck even the Mayans ended more or less. So, of course, their calendars would as well.
    Also, the flares of 2012 are part of a normal cycle that happens every so many years. (I forget the exact amount), but it’s nothing that scientists haven’t known about long before someone decided to bring the mayan calendar into it. It’s not unheard of nor unexpected. So enjoy the northern lights. I know I’m hoping to see them again.
    jeanie

  3. Grainne says:

    Very interesting…I’ve not had any issues with the internet today and I didn’t even hear about the solar flare. I’ll have to pay more attention…whenever there’s something wrong with my internet, I automatically assume it’s either my provider or carrier.

    I have actually stopped watching the Discovery Chanel on weekends because of the endless shows about the end of the world, alien take-overs and other shows of the sort. I never had much patience for that sort of thing. Y2K was the last straw for me…..watching people panic and buy out every backup generator on the market, only to have them all appear in the local buy and sell on Jan 2, 2000 was more than enough for me. 😉

    • I agree with you. The Discovery Channel AND The History Channel have both gotten a bit over the top on this metaphysical stuff. There’s still PBS, and my favorite, NPR on the radio which has “Science Friday” with Ira Flatow. Last Friday had a segment on “alternative energy” and I learned of a company that would be worth investigating for an investment (it’s a wind farm way off the coast of Maine! – like 20 miles off shore.) NPR especially is very good for up-to-date science information, new books about scientific things, and, like last Friday, possible energy investment information. I listen to it all the time.

Leave a Reply

