Design Dreams

I always awaken alone.  My husband has mastered to a level of stealth the art of not making a sound while getting ready for work.  The golf course terrorists ruin his efforts with their infernal machines, so it’s an exercise in futility.  But depending upon how quickly I am aroused from my sleep, I sometimes lose my dreams and sometimes not.

This morning I awoke slowly and remembered my dreams, and they were about new designs for punch needle; all of them.  Or perhaps I never actually got to sleep, and just spent the night thinking about designs.  It doesn’t matter because I feel fine this morning.

Maybe I should clarify this here.  It’s not necessarily the punch needle activity that’s got me obsessed at the moment, but rather punch needle is the vehicle of the month, or perhaps year.  I’m always dreaming up designs.  In fact, the other day I found a missing file box of original designs that I drew years ago for needlepoint.  My designing is constant; it’s the needlework that changes.  And all of those designs can be used for punch needle, which really has me excited.

Last night, before I went to bed, I did some experimenting with the Paternayan wools and my new needles, and my results had me fidgeting before sleep.  I kept wanting to get up and draw.  I speculated that the larger canvas would go as quickly as the smaller one, and it did.  Perhaps even faster because I could punch looser and get the same results with the three-stranded Paternayan wool.  I did a two-inch circle in about a minute and with my heart beating fast in anticipation I turned it over and gasped at the sight.  The loops were even, they were not too tight and not too loose.  The monks cloth is the best cloth I’ve found so far for holding the wool, and these new Amy Oxford needles are to die for. Ergonomic. Lightweight.  Easy to turn.  Smooth needles.  I can thread them without a needle threader – EASILY.  I am in heaven.

I’m back to Lowes today for more two-by-fours and those carpet strips.  My goal is to make a rug frame large enough to hold the whole rug which is approximately 2′ by 3′.  I have visions of pulling out that electric puncher to see if it would be useful for large backgrounds.  I also want to look at more yarn, but you don’t have to mention that to my husband, thank you.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Needle Punch, Needlework, Punch Needle, Rug Hooking, Textile Art, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Design Dreams

  1. Love how excited you got about this fact, and I can appreciate it so much more as I’m the exact same way when i find something that work so well 🙂

  2. Katharine says:

    I’m loving your excitement and energy with needle punching, Patsye. It’s been over thirty-five years since I used a needle-punch, but I still have one. You inspired me to dig among my older work, but I found only one punched piece, a wall-hanging.

    My poor blogs have been languishing, while I decide what to do with them. I’m happy to read your posts, even though I myself have not been posting recently. You’re an inspiration!
    Fun!
    Katharine

  3. kittyhere says:

    It is a great feeling when you are consumed with a project. And it is a pleasure to read about your endeavors. Happy to hear that you found a whole box of misplaced designs.

  4. Jill says:

    Hey Patsye! Just got back from food shopping and wanted to check emails before putting all the groceries away and mopping the attic – for the 4th time! Those guys who spackled left such a mess!

    It’s funny hearing about your new obsession! Right now I’m so envious of all the sun you have in Florida. Every day is a struggle to get up and get going. From what I understand in BlogLand, I’m not the only one dealing with this. I doubled my Vitamin D for the winter!

  5. Grainne says:

    Your passion is contagious Patsye. You’ve got me cross stitching and staring at my mail box hoping my punch needles arrive soon! I can’t wait to try this…I’m really surprised with myself, but I’m loving this new interest.

    Thanks for the new focus. ❤

Leave a Reply

