Big Mistake in Punch Needle

I made a huge mistake when designing my latest pattern, and did not realize it until I had transferred it onto the monks cloth.  Fortunately everything is covered by wool when complete, so I can just write over it with impunity (except for embarrassment!).  What did I do?  I wrote the words without reversing them, so that when you flip it over to the right side, everything was BACKWARDS.  I am fairly sure this is a mistake I will only make once, and I’m surprised I even did it this time because I know better.  I guess I’m just too excited to start this project.  Learn from me.  I’ll make many more, but different, mistakes on this journey that I will share and save you the trouble.

Looking for a way to level, center, and artistically write words on a rug, I went to Youtube today and found this video.  What a gorgeous shop!  It makes me want to jump in the car and move to New Hampshire, which doesn’t sound like a bad idea frankly.  I’ve been to New Hampshire, and it’s beautiful!

You will LOVE this video, and maybe absorb some of their enthusiasm for this amazing craft.  I am definitely “afflicted with an addiction to wool!”  P.S.  The “Patsy” is not me!

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Needle Punch, Needlework, Punch Needle, Rug Hooking, Textile Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Big Mistake in Punch Needle

  1. I want all of the yarn in that store. It looks like such a fun place!

  2. cubbyholes says:

    I’ve really been enjoying reading your daily adventures with your punch needling. 😉 That video is great and I was dying to get my hands on all that yarn in the background. lol. You need to make a small punch needle that says, “Punch Needlers do it in reverse.” Hang it in your craft room. Keep at it!
    Jeanie

Leave a Reply

