The Katrina of Colds

If we named colds like we name hurricanes, I would be in the throes of Katrina.  That’s how bad this is.

And it’s hard for me to admit it.  I’ve been walking, no strutting would be more honest, around Florida espousing the miracle of Zicam and hand washing, and that’s why I RARELY get colds.  It’s been seven years since I moved here, and seven years since I’ve had a cold.  I’m at day four and counting, clearly making up for lost time.

Every morning I get up from a hellish night thinking surely I will feel better today.  Only I feel worse.  And not just worse, but exponentially worse, like the Richter scale of 6.5  is ten times worse than 6.4.  If colds were earthquakes, this would be a 9.5 which I believe is the highest ever recorded.  Maybe I’m a 9.6.

So while laying here unable to do anything other than roll over to blow my nose I got to thinking about allergy sufferers who walk around all spring with runny, burning noses and sneezing.  Forgive me, but I’d get those shots in a heartbeat.  At least I have an endpoint to my misery.

But the worst part is not having the energy to work on crafts.  Just writing this little post will surely knock me out for the next three hours.  Thank God.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Katrina of Colds

  1. cubbyholes says:

    oh poo… you are just soooo not allowed to be a sickie! I feel your pain. I’ve had everything that has come down the pike this winter. ::shudders:: Hope you feel better soon! Jeanie

  2. Maxine Cook says:

    Feel better soon Patsye! Sorry to tell you that a cold is 3 days coming, 3 days with you and 3 days leaving… if you’re lucky. I hope you’re very lucky! xoxo Max

  3. Jill says:

    Oh my poor Patsye! Sounds to me like you need to leave Florida and move to PA! : )
    Hoping you feel better really soon. Nurse, heal thyself!

  4. Take care of yourself! Hope you feel better soon. An if not, get thee to a doctor.

  5. kittyhere says:

    Sorry you are suffering and unable to sleep. At least you have access to plenty of OJ in Florida. Do visit your doctor if it keeps getting worse, in case it is more than a cold (pneumonia).

  6. Oh honey, I hope you feel better very soon! *sending positive thoughts and healing energy*

Leave a Reply

