Knock, Knock. Who’s There?

I’ve been writing this blog for over a year now, and I’ve made many, many friends. Australia, Romania, England, Ireland, and many parts of Canada, all seem more familiar to me now, whether I’ve been there or not, because of my posts and the responses I’ve received.

But just today I noticed “The Map” in the statistics section of my administrative area of WordPress. I LOVE the idea of seeing the world depicted as this tiny little thing, all lit up with color indicating where and how many clicks on Whimseytopia were made in the current twenty-four-hour cycle. WordPress is now “WorldPress” to me, and I’m very excited about the idea behind this new gizmo.  Then I noticed that someone from The Russian Federation clicked in, and though I am one-hundred percent positive there is not an ounce of bigotry in me, I was surprised to find myself wondering why someone in the Russian Federation would be interested in what I have to say. Certainly there are punch needle enthusiasts in Russia. Heck, a Russian  invented punch needle.  At least many of my books indicate this to be true. So why did I have that wave of curiosity when I saw this?

Believe me when I say it isn’t the Russia part.  I have St. Petersburg in the top five places I must see before I die.  I think it is that I just realized that I can’t control where my posts go.  I can’t control who reads them and for what purpose.  I’m not on Facebook for the silly and simple reason that I want to control who sees my pictures, who owns my photos and content, and who is gathering information about me.  I am fooling myself if I don’t think there is someone or some thing on WordPress who is gathering information about me, though I am pleased to acknowledge that there is so little to know.  I spend so little money now that marketing me would be the most futile way a company could spend theirs.

So welcome, Russian Federation, to the world of Whimseytopia.  I wish there was a way to track those who visit my site beyond just their country.  And those cryptic addresses that lead nowhere: perhaps this is because there is no “where” and there is no “one” behind the visit.  Perhaps it’s merely a computer generated hit on my site, a search for something of import that will never be there.  Perhaps it’s a numbers game, like most market research.

I can’t imagine it, but if there is someone in The Russian Federation who wants my help with crafts or punch needle, I would love to hear from them.  Please, leave a comment or send me an email, and I would welcome the friendship.

On the other hand, if this is about a lottery……

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Knock, Knock. Who’s There?

  1. I love looking at the map of who visits my blog as well, so much fun!
    And it’s so nice to see the map and then make the connections, I actually know people from X places.

    Interestingly enough, about a year ago I think (or something along those lines) one of my recipes ended up on a Russian recipes forum. The “Kinder Bueno” cake recipe. It’s my most view blog post – ever 🙂

  2. I didn’t know there was a map feature to look at! I will have to check into this. Maybe the Russians are visiting me too?

  3. Hi Katharine! Good to hear from you. Yea. What’s up with the Russian Federation? I’m not sure I even know what the Russian Federation is. Is that like the old USSR? And were they “giving” or “stopping” a virus? Or maybe this is an off-shore bank? Ha! Or maybe, just maybe, someone heard of my punch needle exploits and they’re really interested…though that doesn’t explain why you were visited; does it?

    Anyhow, hope all is well. I am off to see if you’ve written a new post. Patsye

  4. Katharine says:

    Patsy,
    I, too, was visited by the Russian Federation, just this morning. It seems to be an anti-virus site/ marketer/ whatever. Yeah, there are risks in putting oneself out there – – but it’s how I found you!
    Katharine

Leave a Reply

