Hello? Is Anybody Out There?

Yours for only $899.99 with free shipping! Such a bargain!

I like Amazon .com; it is my go-to shop for all my downloads.  They have my records and they allow me that “one-click” type of shopping I so love.  The exception here is my craft books.  Those I want in hardcopy, not Kindle versions, so that I can follow instructions.  One problem with downloaded books is that the pictures don’t necessarily match the page.  Instructions are next to impossible to follow. And I can’t put little scraps of fabric into pages or have yellow sticky notes sending me straight to the right place.  Furthermore, I like looking at my prodigious needlework library.

So I was looking for a book entitled Wool Rug Hooking: Thirty Projects to Warm Your Home by Tara Darr selling through “amitcg” out of Texas for $119.92 plus 3.99 for shipping.  This, please note, is the “bargain edition,” whatever the heck that means.  Wait. Wait.  There’s more.  This is a “USED” copy.  So I went looking for a new one.

The new editions went from $64.55 to $95.47.  Mind you we’re still looking at the “Bargain edition.”

Now on to the regular paperback edition.  I’ll wait right here while you get some toilet paper.  Ready?  Bordeebook has this title available for a mere $900, not including shipping from their “unknown” location on, which I’m guessing is somewhere on Mars.

You’d think I’d have given up on owning this book because I was seeing the same insanity on other book-selling sites, but alas I found a brand new copy of this most valuable piece of rug hooking history in a needlework online supply company for $22, and it will be here by the end of the week.  Now I understand there are algorithms for pricing these books, and all of it is by a computer, but the question remains:  Does anyone ever look at these pages with a human eye and realize there is something amiss?  Isn’t there a program that can detect the contradiction between the words “rug hooking” and “$900” and send up a little flag?

I’m looking forward to receiving this book.  It got amazing reviews and is a “must have” for all serious rug hookers.  But if it doesn’t knock my unfinished socks right off their knitting needles, you can bet I’ll be selling this book, right here, for only $899.99 with FREE shipping.  Look for it.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Knitting, Needle Punch, Needlework, Punch Needle, Rug Hooking, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hello? Is Anybody Out There?

  1. vanesseva says:

    You gave me a good giggle on this one 🙂 By the way, have you tried Thriftbooks.com? I have found many there…and the prices are really unbelieveable…on the cheap side…

  2. I came across this post (here in the future of November 2014) and have sat here having a good old giggle at it. I too know of the O.V.E.R.priced books on Amazon. I’ve found several when looking for books and have sat here in amused amazement that someone even thinks that anyone’s going to ‘bite’ that bait.

    Whilest writing … if you still don’t own a Kindle:- Did you know that you can now download an ‘App’ onto your computer, which is a Kindle App? I have it. I got it for free from Amazon themselves. So just in case you haven’t purchased the Kindle, – I wanted to let you know that you can now get it for free.

    Have a truly blessed day ~ love ~ Cobs. x

  3. Pingback: Rug Hooking Guild, and why I’ll stick with punching. | whimseytopia

  4. Sue McB says:

    Well done with your bargain, such a magnificent saving!! I’ve had similar experiences when looking for out of print books – I just figured the sellers were very greedy or not too keen to get rid of their stock. I loved your Stargazer rug by the way, and I have ordered Ahab’s Wife, hard copy from the Book Dep and it should be here this week. Will let you know what I think.

    • Sue. Good to hear from you. I’m wondering if you’ve checked into the Kindle? There are borrowing libraries for Kindles now (though I’m not a member of one – yet), and it would be so much easier. I hope you like this book. I’ve never heard of anyone not liking it. Most love it. But it occurred to me that I’ve talked up this book so much I might be putting undo pressure on people to like it. Oh well. My fingers are crossed. It’s quite a journey – no one can deny that. Thank you for the kind words about my. I’m well into rug number two, and still addicted to this art form.

      And those prices….I’m sure it’s computer generated. No one in their right mind would spend that kind of money on a book. I’ve always kept my eye out for Obama’s book, Dreams of My Father, which fetches anywhere from $2500 to $250000 for the first edition. I’d like to find that in some Goodwill store, wouldn’t you?

  5. Jeanie says:

    Some places watch better than others, altho stuff still slips through. Ebay has become far more aggressive in finding stuff like that and in making sure their sellers aren’t screwing people on shipping charges. That’s an old trick for making money on Ebay. Buy a $5 item that fits in an envelope and then pay $12 for shipping/handling. Some still do it, but they are trying to crack down on it because it gives them a bad name and discourages people from buying from their site.

    Plus, as a seller, you can ask whatever you want. It won’t sell, but that is also part of the freedom of selling; doing your own pricing.

    • I know exactly what you mean. I’ve seen that several times. Unless it’s in the ballpark, I don’t buy from Ebay. I do like their return policies. I’ve had an incident or two, and Ebay and Palpay (owned by Ebay) have always come through for me, so I do like the level of security they afford.

  6. Grainne says:

    Haha! That sounds like quite a deal! Do you do international shipping? 😉

Leave a Reply

