How to Remove Interfacing From Reclaimed Wool Clothes

The best solution for sticky interfacing.

The best colors I’ve found in reclaimed wool were in jackets.  You’d be surprised at how much cloth there is in a jacket, but you run the risk of it being lined with interfacing that has been glued in (ironed-on).  It’s not in my nature to pull out a seam of something I don’t own, so I always take the chance and buy it.

I found just such a jacket a week ago, purchased it, and naturally when I started to pull it apart I found all but the sleeves had been interfaced.   I didn’t get upset but rather vowed to find the solution to removing it without spending four hours picking it off square inch by square inch.

I thought of heat because, after all, heat got it on there, heat should remove it.  Except heat melts it if you use an iron.  So whatever heat was going to take it off couldn’t come from an iron, or at least an iron touching the fabric.  The next solution was to hold the iron just above the fabric and pump steam into it and then start pulling.  This worked, for about 3 seconds, or one pull of a strip.  Again, not a good solution.  I needed something to protect my hands from the steam, and the iron was just too heavy.

Such a Deal!

So I found a steamer, the kind you steam drapes, men’s suits, and for cleaning things like upholstery. Unlike the iron that melted the interfacing on the faceplate, you can put the steamer right on the fabric and deliver more heat and steam without any goo.  You do need a protective glove, but steaming with one hand and pulling the interfacing with the other is quick work and certainly opens up more opportunities for salvaging old wool clothes.

My steamer is by SteamFast, and it is on sale NOW at Tuesday Morning.  Originally $80, then sale priced, and then their deep discount, and then another sale price at $24.99, but then 40% off of this brought it to $14.99. Got to love that!  It works very well, has six attachments, and a measuring cup for accuracy.  They had several in stock.

Next time I will use the steamer before I disassemble the jacket, as I think it would be easier to do this if the jacket is hanging from a strong hanger which will hold it steady while you pull off the interfacing.

So now those pieces I saved for wool artwork because I was too lazy to pick at the interfacing, I can now easily peel clean and use for rugs.  This will be a real time-saver.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Needle Punch, Needlework, Punch Needle, Rug Hooking, Textile Art, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Remove Interfacing From Reclaimed Wool Clothes

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    Great idea.

Leave a Reply

