Mourning Doves

Hidden Mourning Dove Nest

You’ll think I’m a ninny when you read this, but I always thought mourning doves were actually morning doves. That little cooing reminded me of both the sweet sound a mother makes when awakening her baby and the sound a baby makes when he wakes up.  Who knew?

My husband was trimming a Queen Palm in our front yard this weekend.  It’s big, almost too tall for homeowner maintenance, and I imagine the next pruning will be done by a professional. He tied the ladder to the tree and got the electric pruner into position, and then noticed one of the new frond buds moved.  So he went a little higher and touched it will his hand, and knew in an instant it was not part of the tree, but rather part of a bird.

A mourning dove has built a nest right where he was going to trim, and now we, and our picky neighbors, will just have to wait until the end of summer before that brown, droopy frond will be removed.  Too bad.  But I don’t mind one bit.  I love the sound of mourning doves, and I’m not about to scare them away.

Watching and Waiting

It was curious that we’ve had a few visitor cats in our driveway lately, and I wonder if this is the reason.  There are so many predators that would find a dove tasty, I was not surprised by reading THIS that their chances are not good. There is a hawk who often hunts from a tree in my backyard, but usually his attention is drawn toward the lake or the golfers.  There are plenty of domestics that will jump these doves as well, but the most abundant predator in our neighborhood is the heron, and they’ll eat anything!

Found something! I hope it's a snake!!!

 

So I’m shooing away the cats, and watching out for that hawk, and I have my fingers crossed that this pair of doves will produce babies all summer long.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mourning Doves

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    I hope that the babies will be fine. It is fun to watch a nest.

  2. I love mourning doves too, and you weren’t the only one who once thought it was “morning” doves.

    Watch out for the hawk. I’ve lost a few doves to a Cooper’s Hawk that hangs around the bird feeder looking for a snack.

  3. Jill says:

    Well, don’t I feel like the fool. I always thought it was morning dove too!
    Have you decided when you’re moving to PA yet?! : )

Leave a Reply

