Tea Dyeing and Eternity

Maybe I’m just impatient.  Well, maybe there is no maybe to it:  I am impatient.
And consequently tea dyeing is not for me.  I can’t keep my hands out of it.  I keep checking the progress, and by doing so delaying it, or certainly messing with the mottled look I’m craving, and basically ruining everything before it even gets going.

So I took the same red and blue wool out of the tea bath and put it in a quick bath of cocoa brown Rit dye.  Well, no waiting here!  Actually there was some scurrying instead. Cocoa brown Rit dye will dye anything, I’m assuming even black, to cocoa brown in a matter of minutes if not seconds.

I’m learning the hard way with this rug making stuff, of course, and now know that unless the wool has a nuance of color change to it, it looks too bland, no matter how lovely the color is.  I’m guessing all wool must be dyed before punching, unless you are using a tweed or plaid, and perhaps I’ll be dyeing those too.  I see book after book filled with specific instructions for dyeing wool for hooked rugs.  It all sounds like so much work. And who has the room and hardware?  I can see why those semi-professional rug hookers get themselves big studios.  And believe, I want one!

My dyed pieces are on hangers swinging from a tree.  My studio is the grass in my backyard, and my hardware is an old ice bucket and a hose, and I also have a jug of vinegar.  I can see there are a few pieces I may want to re-drizzle with the saved dye but we won’t know until tonight if I’m going to have some more work to do on this.

I am so happy with my design I can barely walk away from it, but the nuances of these colors will be my greatest trial, and I don’t believe that anyone who is now very good at this didn’t go through the same learning process.  I will prevail.

And I will post the results of today’s dye bath tomorrow.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Needle Punch, Needlework, Punch Needle, Rug Hooking, Textile Art, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tea Dyeing and Eternity

  1. cubbyholes says:

    What a project! I’m tired reading about it. hehe. Can’t wait to see the next piccies of it. post post post! 😉

Leave a Reply

