Moving On

Maryland Crab Rug

I received another “where are you?” email this morning, and I am ashamed.  I have blogged about “going missing;” how to let others know that the absence is planned rather than caused by some illness or catastrophe.  I have an excuse, and it is a pretty good if not simple one.  I have been so incredibly busy I have not had time to either read or write any blogs.  Please forgive me, and thank you to those who have written, called, and kept up.

The reason?  We are moving.  Finally.  Do we know exactly where? No.  But we do have a contract on a house in NC, and if that doesn’t work out, we’ll put one on another, and another, until we get an accepted contract, have a good inspection, and move.  I’ve got my moving company bids, and I’ve made THE LIST about what furniture will be sold (we’re downsizing), what will be moved, who must be called, which utilities and services need to be cancelled, and what not to forget (like the rocks in my rock garden that I brought back from Ireland.) There are literally hundreds of reminders and tasks on this list.

I have waited over six years for this.  I wanted to leave the day my son died.  All I could think to do was run out the door and never come back.  But that was impossible.  My husband is lucky to have a good job, and that good job was and is mitigating the loss we incurred on our overpriced Florida home.

I’m too old for this, but it must be done.  We’re starting over.  It will be a new and wonderful beginning, and all those sad reminders that haunt me daily will be several states away.  So I ask for your patience and good wishes while we journey on and make this happen.  I promise to come back the minute it is possible.

Back of rug showing pattern

And just to update my crafting, I have continued to work on the Red, White and Maryland Blue Crab rug, learning as I go which reclaimed wools work best, how to accommodate various wools into one project with different sized tools, and which way to turn my loops for the best look in curves and straight lines.  I’ve dyed all the wool in this project, and my little broken Bliss cutter has dutifully cut each and every strip.  I’m already thinking about a better cutter.

But I’m still LOVING this craft, and I am very happy with my design.  In fact, punching a few inches between tasks, computer work, phone calls and the two house-hunting trips has kept me sane and calm.  I don’t know how I’d be handling all of it if that rug wasn’t here waiting for me.  Along with my continued daily swimming, I may survive this after all.

Thank you everyone for your care and concern.  I miss you all.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Needle Punch, Needlework, Rug Hooking, Textile Art, Whimseytopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Moving On

  1. I must have missed your “gone missing” post, and moving is a perfectly good excuse to ignore this for awhile! We’ll be here when you’re back. 🙂

  2. Katharine says:

    Patsy, So good to hear from you! I’d love it if you moved to rural New York State.
    My blog has been neglected as well, due to health issues, mostly.
    I hope the move goes as smoothly as possible for you, and that once you are settled, you’ll keep in touch.
    Hugs!!!

  3. maureenc says:

    Trust me Patsye!
    No matter WHERE you relocate to, your missing child will always remain a hole in your psyche
    I am sorry, but that is how it is
    .I had a deep, satisfying and loving relationship with my husband of 46 years.
    But his death was far easier to cope with than the loss of our second son through an industrial accident 23 years ago
    A mother never truly accepts, or comes to terms,with the loss of a child, no matter how many surviving children there remains.
    My boy was killed in 1898 and even today the pain remains.
    I wish for you and your husband, the very best of futures,and safe relocation

  4. cubbyholes says:

    Thanks for posting your email. omg I lost it and I was trying to figure out how to get hold of you!!!! I had a comp er… difficulty… and lost a lot of email addys. I’m SO glad to hear you are alright. Moving is such a hard (physically and emotionally) thing to go through but it sounds like it’s going to be a very good thing for you. Now that I have your email again I’ll write to you soon. okies?
    Jeanie

  5. I thought you would be involved with relocating. I hope you get the house you want and your move will be less stressful.

    Keep in touch.
    Patti

    • Anonymous says:

      Thanks Patti. We’re trying to recoup some of our losses by buying a foreclosure, but what a hassle. Anyhow, we’re keen on NC. It’s really beautiful. I will definitely stay in touch,

  6. Maxine Cook says:

    Patsye, I lost your email address when my old laptop bit the dust. Not receiving your blog posts, I’ve wondered where you’d gone. Please email me with your contact info. I, too, have been on the MIA list due to too much else going on in my life with work and writing newspaper columns now… did you doubt I’d soon be doing that?

    I wish you much good luck and happiness. I am ecstatic to hear you are moving out of Florida! It’s what your heart has desired, at least since I have known you. Please, please keep in touch.

    xoxo Max

    • Anonymous says:

      EEK! I do not have back-up on my computer and the very thought of a meltdown makes me nervous. Patsye@whimseytopia.com will always find me. I KNEW you’d be writing, and I am quite sure you’ll be the Editor before you’re through. I will not only stay in touch, I plan to have a cup of tea with you someday on your beautiful farm.

  7. Sue McB says:

    So glad to hear your exciting news and to know only good things have kept you away. Glad you have managed to sell your house, even if not at the price you wanted, you can now begin anew somewhere else. Hope you find something you really like, and your bits and pieces will make it home. Moving is the pits, I swore I would never do it after the last one, but I’m sure I shall have to as three acres of garden is just too much these days. All the best, look forward to the next installment.

    • Anonymous says:

      Thanks Sue. I think of you often and wish my new digs had three acres. I will be in touch in a couple of months when things settle down. Have a great summer….I mean winter. Patsye

  8. Northern Narratives says:

    Good luck to you 🙂

  9. Ruth says:

    I too have been on the “missing” list.. I have just been so darn tired and unmotivated. Moving is a big job and I send you love and happy trails in your new abode. Sometimes a new environment gives us renewed vigor. I hope you find what you are looking for.

    • Anonymous says:

      Hope you are well and painting up a storm. Yes, moving is a big job. Finding the right home is even bigger though. I do not like the task and staying in hotels while looking is awful. Glad it’s over – I hope!

Leave a Reply

