Red, White and Maryland Blue Crab Punch Needle Rug

Red, White and Maryland Blue Crab Rug

I DID IT!  Even with all that’s going on, I managed to finish my latest rug.  This one is larger than the last, at 30 X 40 inches, but the big difference is the wool.  This was fashioned from cut wool strips instead of wool yarn.  Much of the colors were dyed on new, or over-dyed on recycled, wool.  My Amy Oxford Punch Needles remained comfortable and easy to work with.  My muse was the many 4th of July picnics at my parents’ cottage on the Chesapeake Bay.  How sad that I didn’t learn to love those blue crabs until I got older.    But the rest of that food; the corn-on-the-cob, beer, and that famous cake my mom made, with blueberries and strawberries pressed into fluffy white frosting for the American flag design – oh I can taste it still!

I am thoroughly addicted to this art form and love the idea that my rug will live on long after I’m gone.  Handmade, folk art, Americana rugs are highly collectible and exceedingly durable.  Though this creamy color looks good to me now, I know that time and use will darken the image, giving it a patina that only a good, strong, well-worn wool rug will acquire.

My next project is sketched out and ready for transfer.  I’ll give you a hint.  It’s entitled
“A Murder of Crows.”  It may take me a little longer since we’re in the packing stage of our move.  I’ll post something at the half-way mark.  If anyone is interested in trying this craft, I’d love hear from you.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Needle Punch, Needlework, Punch Needle, Rug Hooking, Textile Art, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Red, White and Maryland Blue Crab Punch Needle Rug

  1. Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too magnificent. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a wonderful web site.

  2. Debbie says:

    Hello, a friend sent me a post of your blog, and I was thrilled to read that you are a puncher too! I took Amy Oxfords Teacher Certification class and loved it. I just finished an original McAdoo rug called Seashore. I will figure out how to send a picture of it. Love your blog and your work!
    Debbie Palmer

  3. cubbyholes says:

    That came out GORGEOUS! Miss seeing you, woman!

  4. Northern Narratives says:

    I love the design. It’s beautiful.

  5. I love it! Where are you moving to? Email me.

  6. Missed you! (And that is soo pretty, love it!) ❤

Leave a Reply

