Spider Pumpkin House

Spider Pumpkin House by Tesia Harris

The first fourteen days in my new-old home included sixteen trips to Lowes to the tune of $4000.  And I’ve only just begun.  This house needs everything from ceiling paint to new floors, a new furnace and air-conditioner, kitchen appliances, three exterior and eight interior doors.  We won’t even mention the bathrooms. Let’s just call this a whole-house renovation, minus a roof.

Everyone at Lowes is friendly and knowledgeable, and most importantly there always seems to be enough personnel to help when help is needed. And I needed help yesterday in coordinating a delivery but I didn’t mind waiting for this because the store has been decked out in Halloween decorations unlike any I have seen before.

I believe it was a contest between departments with a pumpkin, craft, or vignette prominently displayed, usually near the department’s help desk.  So while at the “door desk,” I commented to the lady helping me about the fun I’d had looking at all the great Halloween crafts.  The pumpkin on her desk was particularly crafty, and when she told me she had created it I asked if she was an artist or crafter.  “No, actually”, she said.  “This was my first attempt at something like this.”  The conversation lead to the fact that she was about to toss it in the trash, Halloween being over, and I jumped at the chance to take possession and photograph it for both this blog and future ideas.

I’m always surprised at first-time crafters and their talents, mostly because they don’t seem to realize how good they are.  The pumpkin is mixed-media with a working door constructed of styrofoam and an artsy painting technique.  Small seasonal ornaments, carved gourds, and some cleverly placed plastic spiders, both in and out of the real pumpkin, give you much to look at.  She also thought of adding Vasoline to the rind to give it a nice sheen and possibly preserve it – which so far has worked well.

So now I’m the proud owner and have placed it outside my front door because the temperature should keep it going another week, maybe longer.  I truly wish I could say I made this, but I certainly will borrow some ideas and motivation for making my own next year.

By the way, those who know me will be happy to learn I had at least a dozen “groups” of trick-or-treaters Halloween night, which is ten more than I expected.  Not only did I get to meet more neighbors, I’m also happy to report that no matter how many boxes and packaging materials you have in your front yard, if you turn on your front light, the trick-or-treaters will come!

Hope you all had a great Halloween.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Assemblage Art, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spider Pumpkin House

  1. wspines says:

    I stumbled on your blog today. Its wonderful. I love the Maryland Crab rug. I too spent summers at the mouth of the Cheaspeake Bay. I hook, occasionally punch hook, love ireland, knit etc. and have a old house that has needed almost everything and still needs things. The pumpkin is great, I am glad you rescued it.
    Carole
    Whispering Pines farm

  2. maureenc says:

    No matter how long the list is of “things to do” friendly neighbours always help you to feel settled more quickly

Leave a Reply

