Why do I blog?

stop_blogging_smallThere is no real rhyme or rhythm to my blog.  I am addicted to punch needle and you don’t have to dip your toe too deeply here to find several hours of my opinion on the subject.  I simply love it and wish I knew more people who’ve tried it.

But I don’t.  And now that I’m in the throes of unpacking and rehabbing this house, I can’t even find my needles, so there’s no sense in writing about it.  So what keeps me blogging? Why do I continue to post about the little events in my day that, empirically, are meaningless.

I have my reasons, none of which have anything to do with preparing myself to pen the great american novel like some others I have noticed. Some of my motivators are:

1.  I like telling people that I manage a blog almost as much as I like blogging.  Some people find this, and thus me, mysterious.

2.  Blogging provides a venue for ventilating, though most of the time I delete the rant before I publish it.  If I feel it is of benefit to others, I leave it up.  Like saving $55 on a pair of boots.

3.  Blogging is a very easy way of keeping up with friends.  I don’t Facebook.  I don’t Tweet.  Besides blogging, I email and use the telephone (it’s a landline if you can believe that!) Even my friends in Europe stay in the loop with my little blogs.

4.  I have had the experience of someone losing my email and number, but then remembering the word Whimseytopia and tracking me down.  That turned out to be a very good thing.

5.  Probably the biggest motivator is the sharing aspect of blogging.  I’m not selling anything, and unless I declare something copyrighted (like that would have an effect anyhow), I put up what I want others to see for their inspiration.

6.  My blog provides a record of my crafts.  It isn’t uncommon for me to pull up an old post to see a picture or remind myself of something I made.  I have over 6000 photos in my Iphoto library, and it takes a millennium to find a particular one.  So I just go to the right category and pull it up here.  Saves tons of time, and frankly I get a kick out of reading my own stories, often wondering how I come up with such silly stuff.

But when I really think about it, blogging stops me from overdoing it.  It provides a respite in my hectic day.  It prompts me to read other’s blogs, and it connects me to the outside world in a way that calms me and reboots my brain into thinking things other than painting, repairing and replacing things in this new old house.

I’m happy to call myself a blogger, and it has occurred to me that eventually I will run out of space on WordPress.  Does anyone know what happens then?

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Why do I blog?

  1. Nova says:

    I am kind of new to blogging. But I relate to your article. It is the joy of sharing, with people from all walks of life that makes this so beautiful for me

  2. artclubblog says:

    Wonderful post. I don’t even want to think about running out of space on WordPress. The horror, the horror!

  3. Wonderful reasons, Patsye, and as one of your Europe friends, I am so so happy you’re blogging so I can see what you’re up to!

  4. maureenc says:

    Well said! I did miss your comments when you took a sabbatical from blogging. AND I loved your $55 saving on your boots..I hope you emailed same to the retailer that upset you initially

  5. Northern Narratives says:

    I love your reasons for blogging. I don’t Facebook or Tweet 🙂

  6. I love your blogs! you are very good writer with a sense of humour

Leave a Reply

