It’s All Gone Crazy

Wars, mass shootings, fiscal cliffs, sequestration, stupendously stupid reality television, increased taxes, Wall Street shenanigans, the death of civility, Members of Congress driving drunk and generally behaving badly, gerrymandering, and lunatics going postal on Piers Morgan, are just a snippet of today’s news, and what I gleaned in a mere 20 minutes.  And that was my mistake, considering all I wanted to see was Jeopardy.

With my crafts packed safely and secretly away, I have little to do other than continue painting walls and reading.  I did have my first long day at the food bank, and it was an eye opener.  The number of senior citizens, regular gentle folks and mostly women, should be the news but I doubt anyone will be reporting on this.  I am grateful for the opportunity to serve my community, but I would not be honest if I didn’t admit to being unnerved by the length of the line in this small town.  I was told this was the largest head count ever.

Times are so crazy now.  I moved from the Capital of Weird,  to find some semblance of sanity, but I think I underestimated the scope of how strange the world has become.  The stressors are everywhere, and I thank heaven that I can fill my thoughts and dreams of better things.  My books, friends, painting, rug hooking, and the idea that someday soon I will find the boxes in my basement that contain my craft supplies, is what keeps me sane. I know people who don’t craft, or read, or do much other than watch television, and I can’t imagine how they cope with it.  How many television murders can you watch in one lifetime?  Apparently there is no limit.

For those of us who read and write blogs, how lucky are we?  Very lucky, I would say. There’s so much to do besides focus on the bad and bizarre, though occasionally I need to nod to how it’s all gone so crazy, and hope for better times in the future.  Like now.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s All Gone Crazy

  1. I too share your thoughts. I have no idea how people live with television as their only hobby. I don’t even subscribe to a TV service provider. If there’s a show I’d like to watch, I watch it on Netflix. I am a lot less stressed since I ditched the cable years back. The constant barrage of what’s known as “news” these days is just depressing. If I need news, I read the paper or listen to the radio.

  2. Jill says:

    Hey there old friend. What you just wrote about is exactly why I’ve gone into hiding the past few months. That combined with dealing with my own personal stressors just pushed me over the edge and I just wanted to hide from it all! Well, I just posted a blog today and hope to start again. I miss “talking” with other bloggers and artists, who are always great for inspiration and just feeling upbeat. So sorry I haven’t been better at staying in touch. Please don’t take it personally. It’s just been me in a funk.

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    Thank goodness for crafts, books and friends.

  4. Sue McB says:

    Australia can be pretty weird too – nothing but disasters in the news media, politicians seem to do nothing but sling mud at each other, while real social issues are not dealt with. I no longer buy newspapers and rarely watch the news on TV as it is so depressing or sensationalistic. Much rather the simpler country life in a small community, perhaps becoming more insular, but always active with heaps to do. At the moment we are all just hoping this area does not burn as so many other areas are being devastated by bushfire. Hope you can find those craft supplies soon, it will keep you sane for sure!

Leave a Reply

