A Slightly Different Warning

I’m a city girl turned country girl, but there remains a part of me that elicits a knee-jerk response.  That’s driving habits.  (Not that I’ve ever done this….) I immediately slow down when someone blinks their lights at me.  We all know this means there’s a cop around the bend with his ticket book and pen in hand.

So today, after crossing the Catawba River on our way to Blowing Rock, we were heading up a pretty steep incline on a very curvy road when I was flashed repeatedly by an oncoming car.  This had me taking my foot off the gas pedal quicker than I could realize what I was doing.  “Cop ahead,” I said to my husband.  He said, “Go any slower and we’ll be going backwards.”  Yes, it’s true.  I drive a Prius, and I can often hear the moans from the cars behind me on some of these mountain roads.

But I slowed down anyhow.  First curve, no cop.  Second curve, still no cop.  By the third curve I felt I’d been duped, until I saw them…. a family of deer so close to the side of the road one of them actually had its behind in the road.  Since I was doing under 20, we got a good close look, and as they sauntered slowly into the woods, we smiled at each other knowing drivers not only watch out for one another, but are also looking out for our woodland creature friends  …especially those beautiful deer.

This made our day.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Slightly Different Warning

  1. How awesome that people do that!

  2. Pingback: Mourning the Mourning Dove | whimseytopia

  3. maureenc says:

    I’m now in suburbia after some 35 years in the bush! I miss the wallabies in the paddocks, but I still sometimes surprize one of the local Brush tailed Possums going for an evening stroll along the power wires on it’s way to find a meal.

Leave a Reply

