An Aging Blogger

That's me in the brown socks.

That’s me in the brown socks.

I took typing as a Freshman in high school.  I got an “A” because I already typed like the wind.  That was also one of my tricks in college; taking elective classes I already knew much about in order to get an easy “A” for grade-point-average enhancement.  But I digress.

I’ve been blogging for almost two years now.  I enjoy writing posts.  I think others might enjoy reading them.  But lately, and by lately I mean in the last couple of years, I have developed a peculiarity to my writing, or perhaps my typing; I am not sure which.

What happens is that when I type, I type words, not letters.  My fingers have keyed in the same words so many times, there is no hesitation or even a thought to what the word is or whether I am spelling it correctly.  If I think the word “sentimentality,” for example, my fingers simply hit the keys on their own as one whole word, not letters that make up the word.  So imagine, if you will, how disconcerting it has been noticing that, though I am thinking one word, my fingers have begun to type other words.  Like “please” for “people,” or “thorough” for “thought.”  I could give you a million examples, and yes, there is a commonality to the first letter, but not to the number of syllables or the word’s meaning.  This is not just an annoyance, it’s a worrisome aspect of getting old, like losing your keys and forgetting people’s names within nanoseconds of meeting them.

So I joined Luminosity, and I’ve taken many of the classes already (I joined for a year). I wanted to determine, or see if it could be determined, whether I’m having some pre-senile dementia events, or I’m just lazy and have typed so much that I find I’m placing my thoughts elsewhere believing this should all be so automatic I don’t really have to pay attention.  The Luminosity tests are, well, illuminating, as one might expect. My improvement has been remarkable at catching birds by remembering where they appeared.  I am adding, subtracting, multiplying, and dividing those raindrops into oblivion, and that stinking penguin which had me on the ropes in that maze is no match for me any longer.  I can readily determine whether boxes and triangles are following rules, and when it comes to disoriented migrating birds, I am lightning fast. I’ve become the Einstein of Luminosity.  I am getting so good at these tests I must have an IQ of 200 now.  There’s certainly no need for me to water about my mutton any longer.  Right?

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Aging Blogger

  1. Ah yes, I remember my ol’ typing classes – return carriages and all (so dating myself). With all that Luminosity offers, can it help me find my blasted car keys?! Love your blog. I share my own insights on aging (not as gracefully as I’d like) at http://www.cubbyholewriter.com. Perhaps I can share a chuckle or two with you in return.

  2. That’s a funny way to look at it. I do really like your blog and posts, so keep going! 🙂

  3. Just keep on typin’ and don’t worry!!!!

Leave a Reply

