Rose Fever

The Perfect Garden?

The Perfect Garden?

We were in the country playing instead of the in the basement working.  We were buying lunch and spending money, when we should be eating peanut butter sandwiches and saving every dime.  We even went to Cline’s Nursery in Shelby, when I just started a meetup group that would remedy my insatiable desire for more plants.  But that’s the way my life goes.  Best of intentions; precious little commitment.

What happened was we were driving north on a country road and we passed someone’s yard that was filled with those incredible Knock Out Roses. Then within a minute, maybe seconds, on the other side of the road was a gorgeous nursery (Cline’s) with a large sign advertising Knock Out Roses Are Here! What chance did I have?  I bought three double reds.  And while I was there I picked up four, extremely large and economically-priced blueberry bushes.  I only need six more for my little “blueberry fields forever.”

Double Red Knock Out Roses

Double Red Knock Out Roses

I have to say that my rose-raising days were long gone back in the 90’s.  I had a Cecile Brunner old fashion rose that was over 100 years old (at least the original plant was) and it climbed my back fence like Sir Edmund Hillary.  But every new rose I planted thereafter succumbed to everything a rose can succumb to.  And I spent a fortune on fixes, and more time than anyone should on maintenance.  And then I gave up.  But apparently those days are over with these new, genetically modified roses.  Do they have a perfume? I have no idea.  And at this point, I don’t care.  If I can get my three bushes, which are now strategically planted up by the mailbox, to look even remotely like those in the yard we passed yesterday, I’ll be more than happy to have paid, instead of traded, for those bushes.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Gardening, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Rose Fever

  1. cubbyholes says:

    When we bought our house it had nooooo landscaping in front. Just bare house and grass. It did not even have its face on, all the shutters were taken down and not put back up. I had dreams of having roses and baby’s breath across the front. After much money, planting, weeding and crying in frustration, my roses and baby’s breath all died anyway. Florabunda roses simply do not do well up here. But…i found that fairy roses and wild roses grow like weeds. I’ve also had some luck with miniature roses. I wish you well with yours and would love to see them planted and blooming!

    • You are right. Nature will tell you with certainty what goes where. But I have a guarantee on these roses, and I’ve kept my receipt. I’m not surprised or worried about this genetic engineering, since nature itself through natural selection is a form of genetic engineering. We gardeners are too impatient to wait around for another 10,000 years to get those hardy roses. Thanks for your well wishes. I will try to start putting up pictures of the garden soon. How about yours?

      • cubbyholes says:

        its been very odd weather here. 80 one day and then 40 the next and frosts at night. My rhodos have already done their blooming, but 4 days of rain last week have turned everything green and gotten the buds going. Soon as I have something to take pictures of again, I’ll have some up. 🙂

  2. maureenc says:

    God intentions and work ethic are all very well, but never forget that the soul needs regular does of beauty! You now have your roses, so okay eat bread and peanut paste a little longer: but savour the plain fare in your garden

    • Yes Maureen, and I agree. I could use less bread and more roses in my life, and though this garden is in the “ugly” new stages where all the small plants look like pimples on a teenage face, I can see the future. And I can almost taste next year’s blueberry crop.

  3. Ruth says:

    We had a 1/2 acre of garden at our last house with nearly 100 rosebushes! Fragrant Cloud had the most divine scent and have placed another one here in my tiny garden. Roses require work but they are worth it.

    With my husband still in hospital with his brain hemmorhage, I am very glad that don’t have alot of garden to tend to. He was home this weekend after 2 mos…and went directly to his greenhouse.

    Garden is a great healing tool….glad he has that hobby.

    • I think of you often and hope he is home to stay. You had a hundred rose bushes???? OMG. How wonderful. And a greenhouse????? My dream is to have even a small one.
      You are right. Gardening, like art, is very healing. Lucky me – I get to do both. (Lucky you too! We’re both so blessed to have these things in our lives.)

Leave a Reply

