Finally! A holiday I can believe in.

It’s National Donut Day!  Whoop-de-flipping-do, you say! Well, it’s clear you don’t know jack about the holiday, nor how important it really is.

So taking my daily dive down the well of useless information that is the Internet, I found out all kinds of things about not only the holiday, but donuts, wars, and doughboys (not what you might think) to name a few.

200px-Doughnut_Dollies_1918_France

  • A couple of hundred Salvation Army volunteers went to France during WWI to set up canteens for enlisted men. There these war-weary men and women could get their clothes mended, have a free cup of coffee and a pastry (including cakes, pies and donuts), along with pens, writing paper, and stamps so they could write letters to home.  They could dance, meet others, and generally chill out.  Good idea.
  • The donuts were such a big hit, the Salvation Army started handing them out to victims of the Depression.  A fundraiser was held in 1938 to help with the SA’s cause, and it ballooned from there.
  • Each type of donut has its own holi-day because Members of Congress will take contributions from any lobbiest for any reason.  I mean, isn’t this why we elected them in the first place: to keep us supplied in national holidays? You didn’t know these were real holidays?  Well they are.  Like July 16th:  National Corn Fritters Day.
  • Doughboys were not called such because of donuts.  But rather in the war with Mexico our troops got so dusty in the desert they looked like dough.
  • A medium-sized cake donut contains 226 calories, and has 25 g of carbohydrates and 13 g of fat.  Throw on some chocolate icing and you’ve got close to 300 calories.
  • You can probably get a free donut from most donut shops today.  But the coffee will still cost you.

There’s much more to National Donut Day, but you can take the dive yourself with a quick click.  While you’re at it, let’s find out why there is no National Blogging Day. There’s a National Writing Day, but blogging is not real writing.  At least that’s what they tell me.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

