You Are My Sunshine

spring-sunshine-1Perhaps this is one of those funny cosmic coincidences where the cycle is waxing.  But every time I turned around today I heard the song You Are My Sunshine.

There was a segment of ABC’s Nightly News that covered the therapeutic use of gentle, soothing music for newborns in the NICU. A mom was singing You Are My Sunshine to her child in order to increase PO2 and decrease heart rate.  Then there was a Pepsi commercial right after that had a longer version of this same song.  And Pepsi isn’t the only one using it in a commercial. Clearly the copyright has expired.

So I wondered:  Where did this song come from?  I know I sang my child to sleep with it almost nightly.  What mom didn’t?  And I remember a few versions…Ray Charles comes to mind, and several folk singers.  I also remember different lyrics, different tempos, and different versions that veered far from the original.  According to Wiki:

It was penned by Oliver Hood and first recorded in 1939 by Jimmie Davis who changed it enough to grab a copyright.  But like many songs before it, the true origin will probably never be known.  Since then Ray Charles, Ike and Tina Turner, The Beach Boys, Bing Crosby, and every country music recording artist on the planet have either recorded it or placed it in their staged programs.  How it came to usurp Rock-A-Bye Baby as the go-to lullaby, I don’t know, but if you think about it, the two have a strong similarity in cadence.  Try singing one while someone sings the other.o-brother-where-art-thou

Louisiana named it one of its state songs (who knew you could have two?) probably because that first recording artist became the governor.  And by sheer popularity, The National Recording Registry of the Library of Congress added the Davis version for “long-term preservation” in March of this year.  Maybe that’s why we’re hearing it everywhere.

Serendipity is a strange thing, and all of this has reminded me of one of my favorite movies, Oh Brother, Where Art Thou.  In this Youtube the Soggy Mountain Boys sing their hit Constant Sorrow, and end with a chorus of You Are My Sunshine.  As hard as they tried to make him look bad, George Clooney (who is not really singing) is still the stud muffin of the century.  Who cares if he can’t carry a tune.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Are My Sunshine

  1. cubbyholes says:

    If you really think about the words of rock a bye baby its an awful song. Lol

Leave a Reply

