My head, not my hand, is spinning!

Irish_spinning_wheelKindness comes in many forms, and without going into detail (and there is much detail) I have been offered the use of a spinning wheel from a stranger.  And not just the wheel, but a tutorial, some roving, and a new friendship.  I am thrilled beyond measure, yet I am learning that there is still another wool-related thing I stink at.  (Hum, bad sentence.)  Indeed, I can take a yard of pre-drafted wool, and within four seconds turn it into an unrecognizable “wad” of (and here we go with the hairball metaphor again), something my cat would hack up.  Actually I’ve made so many of these nuggets I’ve tied them all together and now my cat has a new toy.  Good for her.

I’ve taken the wheel into a quiet room, cleared my mind, and made wads.  I’ve placed the wheel in front of the computer and watched a related Youtube, repeatedly, while making more and more wads, each time cutting them off the spindle and re-threading so that everything would be “fresh” and “new” and having no bad yarn-wad Karma left behind. Still more wads.Blackface Sheep Scotland

I’ve switched hands.  I’ve switched feet (it’s a single treadle).  I’ve played music; I’ve made notes; I’ve practiced in my mind; I’ve practiced just doing the treadle.  And there’s another thing:  The Treadle!  To get it to go slow enough so that I don’t get a four-second wad right out of the gate, I wind up sending it counter-clockwise, which defeats the purpose, or at least it would defeat the purpose if I’d had a start and some real yarn on the spindle.PICT5086

I know the mechanics of this wheel so well now, because each and every time I make a wad, I go over the “what-could-be-wrong” list to see if it isn’t me, but rather something with the wheel.  It’s always me.

Ah, well.  Let’s see.  I wonder how many years it took me to say uncle to a pair of knitted socks.  Five?  Six?  I can’t remember.  But I have this loner for a month at the most and I will not take advantage of this wonderful lady’s generosity, and will return it within a couple of weeks.  Either I will have a spindle full of wool on it, or my cat will be in cat toys for the next ten years.  I’m betting on the latter.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Needlework, Textile Art, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My head, not my hand, is spinning!

  1. designsweet says:

    I have just bought myself a spinning wheel and understand your problem completely. I bought it because I was given 2 fleeces (one certainly a bit dubious) so had to buy carders, a spindle and, hey why not!, a spinning wheel. I have not really tried yet – I’ve only washed a small amount of the fleece – and although in with the spindle there was some roving I haven’t dared yet to have a go. I can see that I am going to have to look at your blog more closely – you are a woman after my own heart!

  2. cubbyholes says:

    Awwww. I’m not sure I would good at it either, tho I’d like to try it someday. I’ve seen a bit of your work with the punch needle and those are gorgeous! Try to remember that everything teaches us a lesson and sometimes the lesson is to just move on to something else. Then again sometimes its a lesson in patience and perseverance. Hang in there and just laugh at whatever you end up with.:-)

Leave a Reply

