Let the games begin!

Bunny in my clover.

Bunny in my clover.

Ah.  Something to chase the squirrels away. Now I have rabbits.  Actually I’ve always had them; probably a lot of them.  But the critters are getting territorial and when I see the rabbits I don’t see the squirrels…and vice versa.  So which of these cuties does more harm?  Which eats more?  Which propagates quicker?  Thus, who do I shoot first?

And therein lies the problem.  I think I could seriously shoot a squirrel simply because one, or two of them shredded my bedroom window screen, and I’m going to have to spend both money and time to fix it.

True story:  We were in a castle-turned-hotel in Ireland, and as usual I was sleeping in and my husband was up early exploring the grounds.  He tells of coming upon a field of rabbits.  But not just a few rabbits, rather “thousands” (which in my husband’s language is actually hundreds).  He said the field was literally pulsating with rabbits, hopping about, hopping over each other, and seemingly going in circles, no clear destination in mind.  Or was there?  I mean, how did there get to be so many rabbits in one field in the first place?

Sorry to say I missed the pulsating field of rabbits, but I’m not keen on replicating that scene right here in my yard.  I barely have enough plant material to feed the deer and squirrels.  Not to mention the crows.

My BB gun is really just a toy.  I doubt you could “poke your eye out” with it…  like in the Christmas Story.  However, I took a shot at one of the rabbits today, and just like the squirrels, they jump straight up when “kissed” on the butt.  But also like the squirrels, he was back in 5 minutes munching on the clover.  Oh well.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Gardening, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let the games begin!

  1. We have both squirrels and rabbits. So far the squirrels are worse but we shall see. Get yourself a .22 if you are serious about making a statement with the garden pests.

    Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

