Humm!!! ingbirds

Too Fast To Focus

Too Fast To Focus

There are volumes written about what I don’t know about hummingbirds.  But I can now tell you what I do know.  Once they’ve found your feeder, it’s difficult to walk away.  I have so many hummingbirds coming to my feeder, I’m starting to identify them individually.

Perhaps not.  Maybe there’s just a major hummingbird migration happening now.  But I have a brownish-grey one who eats like she’s plucking a piano.  Then there’s an all-black one who not only gorges at the plastic flower trough, but stops and rests allowing us to get a real good view.  There are multi-colored ones; brown, grey and black combined.  One has a black tail with a touch of white on the bottom.  Another with an all black tail.

So this is the first thing I’ve learned.  They don’t all look the same.  Unlike robins and bluejays, these tiny little creatures all look different.  Why is that?

And they’re aggressive!  There are so many of them they look like moths at my garage light at night, swirling and diving, and defying the laws of physics in the way they never seem to run into one another.  A crow came by earlier to see if there were any leftovers from this mornings offerings, and the hummingbirds dive-bombed him almost like a team.  And while all this was happening, all this frenzied flying around, there was a rabbit just quietly munching at my lawn clover.

Meanwhile Bowtie is taking it all in.  We miss the regular song birds, but the squirrels made short work of their feeder and, as you might recall, shredded my bedroom window screen.  Now I won’t put anything up there that will attract them ever again.  And while that is a shame, these kamikazes are a pretty good entertainment replacement.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Gardening, Phototopia, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Humm!!! ingbirds

  1. How cute! That’s a good photo, even if they’re too fast to focus properly 🙂 I’d love to see some in real life, but they don’t come to this side of the map. I’m sure they’re lovely entertainment – both for you and for Bowtie!

  2. Aren’t they the sassiest little buggers? I can never get them to come to my feeder, but they love my neighbor’s feeder. They’re fun to watch.

  3. Max says:

    Wait until the bees and wasps find that sugar water, as they are sure to do by late summer. We had to take ours down because of aggressive stingers! They built their hives nearby and could empty the hummingbird feeder in 12 hours …

  4. Jill says:

    Ted put up a hummingbird feeder right outside our kitchen window so we can watch these little cuties come by. Right? Nope. All it does is attract big fat bumblebees!
    As for squirrels, we’ve got to find a way to get rid of them in our garage. They’re chewing through wires and stinking it to high Heaven. Trying to figure out a humane way to do it, but running out of patience.

    • whimseytopia says:

      Interestingly enough, I had this hummingbird feeder in a different spot in the yard, and never saw one bird. Now that it’s under the eves and in a secure location, they are here in droves. Try another window. I heard that the feeders need to be cleaned often – which I will do. And so far the bees have not found us. Is yours in the shade? Mine is.

      Just shoot those squirrels right between the eyes. I’m done with the squirrels. I’ll never look at them the same way again. They are far too destructive. Good luck!!!

  5. Mary Jane says:

    Hi, Thought you might like to know there is a good Nova special (from the PBS science series) on hummingbirds that aired here about a month ago. It may be on netflix or you might see if you can watch it online through your local PBS station’s website (or the national PBS one). Bet you’d like it!
    Mary Jane

Leave a Reply

