Bowtie

The Real Head of HouseholdBowtie was put to sleep this morning. People don’t really want to hear about sick cats, so if you care not to read this, you can stop here.

I got her early in 2005, right after our other cat, Cosmo, died from poisoning.  He’d been at odds with the Florida reptilian community.  If he was a snake-catcher in Virginia, I never knew about it.  But I used to watch him running about in our Florida backyard with snakes wriggling in his mouth.  One day he stopped eating and peeing, and that was that.  Bowtie came within a week or so, and we immediately made her an indoor cat, though she spent most of her waking hours in the screened-in lanai.  It was the best of both worlds for her.  She could romp in the potted plants, chase a cricket or frog now and then, but she was snug as a bug in her own bed at night, inside and out of harm’s way. I still got her vaccinations and occasionally cleaned her teeth, but she was a low-maintenance, happy cat for years and years.

Then we moved to NC.  She’s been inside and miserable.  She started biting and hissing when I’d pick her up.  I tried to ignore the obvious symptoms of pain, but when she lost control of her bowels I knew something was wrong.  She wasn’t playing at all, she wanted no part of me, and she slept constantly.  She’d over-eat and then lose it.  She had symptoms of blockage.  I gave her medicine; I changed her diet; I tried to cajole her, but she was simply miserable.  And I, in turn, was miserable.

I would like to say it was quick and easy, but it was not.  She turned feral the minute we arrived, and while the doctor was palpating her abdomen, confirming my suspicion that she had a thumb sized mass determined not to be scar tissue or colon contents, she showed more signs of life in her last moment than she had in her last eight months.  It was dreadful and surely the cure of my ever having another pet.  I’ll just need to think of her in those last few moments and, as with Cosmo…that will be that.

I’m going to keep her photo on my blog sidebar, not that I believe in kitty heaven, but rather I believe that when that picture was taken she was a different cat.  I’ll look at this photo and remember her as  content, happy, playful, and clearly very healthy.  Now she’s only at peace, but that’s the right thing for her, and the only thing for me.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bowtie

  1. DE says:

    Hi Patsye,
    It’s so sad when things go badly like this at the end. I have had to put probably 5 or 6 cats down the past 30 years, and the one before last went the same way- awful. If it’s any help, the terrible visual faded over time, and was slowly replaced by memories of all the good years. My thoughts and prayers are with you-
    Debbie

    PS- we’ve also resolved this is it for pets too- after so many and so much love

  2. cubbyholes says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I have dogs and when they go it just tears out my heart and a piece of soul goes with them. Bowtie would want you to remember the sweet cat he was, not what sickness made of him at the end. He couldn’t help that. He loved you send was happy and made you happy, too. Cry for him, grieve for what you lost, then smile and remember the far, far greater amount of happiness and joy he brought to you. That is a wonderful legacy from our beloved pets and what they would wish for us if they could tell us.

  3. maureenc says:

    You made the correct but difficult decision to let her cross the Rainbow Bridge. Hold on to your beautiful memories of her. Those of us who have loved ,and been loved by a cat companion, are truly blessed. Thinking of you!

    • whimseytopia says:

      Thanks Maureen. I imagine we’ve all been through this. I put another cat down about 20/25 years ago, and it’s never easy. I just wish this had gone smoother, but it really wasn’t the doc’s fault. I think she knew, and I think her instincts just kicked in. But boy oh boy, I will never subject myself to that heartache again. …and I’m a nurse!

  4. KittyHere says:

    Condolences to you. Bowtie was a beautiful cat but as you wrote now she is at peace.

  5. Kathy says:

    I am sorry about Bowtie. I have company from MO but I wanted to let you know I am thinking of you.

Leave a Reply

