A Real Cure for Poison Ivy Itching

Yesterday I wrote a pleading post, hoping that others would write to me with cures for the serious bout of poison ivy I picked up last weekend.  I took some of the advice, took Benadryl, tried Tecnu, sprayed with Lanacane, and applied topical steroids.

But NOTHING helped.

So I went back to the computer and found an obscure post about using hot water to release histamines from those inflamed areas.  It is, after all, histamines that cause the itching which is my major complaint.  At this point I don’t care what I look like.  I only care how I feel.

I took the hottest shower I could stand, and I took it for as long as I could stand it, concentrating the stream on my arms and neck.  It was excruciating at first and seemed to exacerbate the itch.  But within a couple of minutes the itching stopped.  And it remained “stopped” for about four hours.  Unfortunately my heart rate went sky high (130) for the first of those four hours, and I realized how dangerous such a therapy could be for someone my age.  But when the itch returned, mildly at first but then with some intensity, I thought to run just my arms under the hot water.  Again I am itch-free.  This is like a miracle, and I can’t believe how well this simple therapy works.  So even if I have to get up in the middle of the night to do this again, it will be well worth it.  As a nurse, I should have known this homeopathic remedy, but I know it now.  If there is anyone out there suffering as I have been, try this.  I swear this is the first relief, real relief, I’ve had since this started.

Thank you to everyone who wrote.  And God bless the Internet.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Gardening, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Real Cure for Poison Ivy Itching

  1. Glad it’s better, and like you said, what a simple thing and brings on actual relief. Good call by the way. Only showering your hands. Maybe a hot towel for your neck could do the trick?

  2. Jill says:

    WOW! Good to know.
    Could be worse. My brother was went camping, didn’t have TP and….well….I guess you see where this is going. Yup, poor kid wiped himself with poison ivy!

Leave a Reply

