There’s no telling where the money went…..

money-down-the-drain-1I’ve enjoyed my time at Lumosity, but to be honest I am bored with the redundancy of the games and have decided to cancel my subscription.  That I paid once at the beginning of the year prompted me to see if I was in an auto-renew program…which I was…so I hit the cancel button.  That was easy; too easy in fact.  One button and I’m cancelled?  I rechecked my account to find I had not actually cancelled and tried the process again. Again I was unsuccessful, but this time scrolled and scrolled to find two more buttons required to complete the process.   I would have found the bill eventually, but how tricky is Lumosity with their excessive scrolling and obscure buttons required to cancel enrollment?  This felt like a test of my perseverance, and I think I passed.

And then there was a charge I spotted on my AmEx from Yahoo the other day.  Even though I started Whimseytopia with them, I quickly moved the website domain name to Mac Highway, and in the process had Yahoo send it to them.  Now you would think Yahoo would be done with me, but no.  They have continued to bill me for three years ($37.00/yr) for holding the domain name with them.  Their explanation:  moving a domain name elsewhere is one department.  Canceling my domain name account with them is another department.  No, I am not kidding. They will keep billing you ad infinitum until you make that second, specific call to that “other” department to cancel their service.  They were “happy” to inform me that they have refunded one year.  I’m not finished with this and will be “happy” to take this to the States Attorney General if I have to.  I’m pretty sure you can not bill for a service not rendered…even in North Carolina.

And yesterday I was in Costco.  I had shopping to do but given that Costco is an hour and a half from my house, and I’ve been twice in one year, I decided to downgrade my membership to basic.  I was required to do this at the customer service line after I checked out, which required another line and another wait, but was surprised when I learned that I didn’t cash my last rebate check for $49.85.  Apparently this check never made it to my mailbox, or in the alternative I threw it away thinking it was an advertisement.  But the person who promised that she would handle getting another check mailed did so by writing my information down on a sticky pad.  A sticky pad?  I left doubting I’d ever see this check so last night I made a call to corporate and found that not only did I not cash that particular check because my new address had not been updated and I never received it, but my last three rebate checks for a total of over $270 never found my mailbox either.  Not sure when they were going to let me know about this, but I have been promised that those checks will be reissued and are forthcoming.

And therein lies the purpose of this post.  I don’t know about you, but be it age or the big move to another state, or presenile dementia, or just too much junk mail and online billing, I seem to be my own worst enemy when it comes to watching my bottom line.  So from now on I am keeping a financial journal, and every time there’s money involved that isn’t on a credit card or online statement (like Costco’s refund and Yahoo’s shenanigans), I am going to write it down and date it to be sure that either I receive what is due me or that I am not on some recurring billing cycle that was initiated by the small print I did not read.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s no telling where the money went…..

  1. I am having a darn time with WordPress.. my photos come out so large grrr… and I keep getting an error script appearing… Very annoying.

    Ruth

  2. Jill says:

    Thanks for writing about these kinds of things. It’s nice to know it just doesn’t happen to us!

Leave a Reply

