A Storytelling Surprise

Magical Storytelling

Magical Storytelling

It was one of those perfect weather days. I was out of the house early because when it’s December and sunny and 64 in Western North Carolina, it’s against the law to be inside. I think it is anyhow.  It certainly should be.

I met a friend in Newton and we did the usual antiquing and lunching and gossiping and telling our dreams of the future even though we’re both older than dirt.  I thought I knew her pretty well, so I was mildly surprised when she asked if she could rehearse in the car.  “Rehearse what?” I asked.  “A story,” she replied.  “I have a performance tonight.”  “A performance?”  So without further ado she started her story.

I almost wrecked the car.  Here she was, now with a different voice, different tone, different inflections, even a different decibel level, banging out this story as if she’s told it a thousand times, which she may have for all I knew.  I was so hooked after the first minute, I didn’t want to stop for gas, and I wouldn’t have except I was past “E” for empty and clearly on “W” for walk.

She’d stop speaking while I pumped, and once finished I reminded her exactly where she was in the story, not that she’d lost track and needed the prompt.  Without missing a beat, she continued through two more stops and at least a half-hour in another antique shop.

The story is not the story (though this one was about a creepy old woman who lived on a hill above a village, where everyone hated her, and a “star child” who appears at her door on Christmas Eve) but the storytelling is.  Apparently she’s been telling stories forever. You can hire her, or you may find her at a coffee house walking about, telling a story, drawing you in.  Then she passes the hat.  She says this is very worth her time.

She also “dresses” the part now and then.  And she’ll find a story just right for her audience, whether, as her card reads, you are “three or one-hundred and three.”  So for anyone who’s local and reading this, write to me and I’ll give you her information.  If I was looking for party entertainment, especially for a child’s birthday, I’d choose her over a clown.  Clowns scare children.  She’ll captivate them.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

