Chu is chum!

finalThe most amazing thing happened last night.  Like the tune in West Side Story – “…there’s a miracle due, coming to you, maybe tonight….maybe tonight.” (I’m paraphrasing here.)  And it did!!!! Chu LOST!!! He’s gone.  He’s toast. I never again have to endure his slouching, insipid yet aggressive, annoying, bloated being on my Jeopardy screen.  And that look, like “I am GOD! and you all are my minions, and I’m bored as hell but this podium will hold me up just long enough so I can make lots of money, snarl at the camera, sneer at my opponents if they beat me to the buzzer, and then run to my car because I’m so much better than this.”

Jeopardy is almost like a religion to me.  I don’t have the app, and I don’t have the game, but I do have the insatiable desire to test my wits every night with the ultimate quest of running a category.  I love amazing myself by knowing things I don’t know.  “How did you know that?” is a common question in this house.  “I don’t know,” is the common answer. It’s just fun having all those “ah ha!” moments.

Chu almost destroyed that.  I can’t count the number of times I simply changed the channel, not being able to bear the sight of him.  I knew he was no Ken Jennings.  I rooted for Ken.  I learned from Ken.  I admired Ken, and wanted him to win.  Heck, I wanted to BE Ken.

Chu may have the book knowledge, but he’ll never convert that into anything useable that will enhance his life beyond cash.  He’s too unlikable.  I imagine his next greatest talent is clearing a room.

Ah, relief.

 

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chu is chum!

  1. I totally agree! I, too, am glad he’s gone. I used to watch Jeopardy regularly but seldom even turn on the TV much any more. I did catch the show last week and saw him in action. I know there are no “rules” to how a contestant uncovers the answers but I was so frustrated after only watching him win one time that I didn’t try to watch the show again. It was also his smugness and attitude that turned me off.

    One of my college roommates and I would play the game during lunch (back in the 70s) and the winner would have to fix dinner. That was back when Art Fleming was the host. I was and still am amazed at how much I know.

    Thanks for your post so I can try to remember to watch one of my favorite shows again

  2. nuvofelt says:

    Haha. Have to admit that I don’t know what Jeopardy is – not available here in the UK. However, I understand the feeling very well – there are a number of person(less)alities over here that are treated with the same (dis)respect. 😆

    • whimseytopia says:

      Hi and thanks for writing. I’ve been watching Jeopardy since the early 60’s, and the format of providing an answer, leaving the contestant to come up with a question, has been used in our schools for decades as a learning tool. You are right. I guess I was disrespectful to this Chu fellow, but you’d have to have seen an episode to understand how disrespectful he was to the other contestants, not to mention the host. Chu just put a pall over the last shows, and I can’t say it enough – I’m glad he’s gone.

      • nuvofelt says:

        Oh, I wasn’t trying to say you were disrespectful – just that although the programmes might change the same thing happens the world over – so I totally understand your point of view. Wish you could see some of the uncelebrities here that get the adoration etc – we are always turning off. Have a great day 🙂

        • whimseytopia says:

          I have family in Hornchurch and have been a frequent guest in your wonderful country. I love British television, and I know you get quite a few of our shows, but it’s even more fun when there are English versions of the same show. I am a true Anglophile! I think Brits are soooooooo polite. As an example: you writing back clarify your statement. Thank you…

Leave a Reply

