The Courier Robin

Posing!

Posing!

Except for the starling the robin is the most common bird in America.  And right now, they’re more common than blades of grass in my front yard.  I’ve seen as many as, and I’m guessing here, 500 at a time in the two yards across the street from my house, and a couple hundred in my yard alone.  I’ve taken pictures, but they just look like lumps of dirt. If I took a video it would look like my yard is percolating.

Robins are walkers.  They seem to be too lazy to take flight to get from point to point.  They’re walking everywhere, I suppose feeding – hopefully on grubs.  Their little heads bob up and down and they seem less skittish than my resident crows.  I watched one walk from one neighbor’s yard, across the road, then back again, then down the street and into my yard where he disappeared among the masses.  They’re just too funny.

Unless you consider this:

“The American Robin is a known reservoir (carrier) for West Nile virus. While crows and jays are often the first noticed deaths in an area with West Nile virus, the American Robin is suspected to be a key host, and holds a larger responsibility for the transmission of the virus to humans. This is because while crows and jays die quickly from the virus, the American Robin survives the virus longer, hence spreading it to more mosquitoes, which then transmit the virus to humans and other species.”  Got that little tidbit from Wiki.

robin's nest

I have a creek behind my house that only flows when there’s a heavy rain.  That means stagnant water when there isn’t, and that means mosquitoes.  I’m going to keep this in mind and use the Cutters or cover up this summer.  Otherwise, I’ll just enjoy the robin’s antics and look for nests with those beautiful blue eggs.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Gardening, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Courier Robin

  1. I have yet to see my first robin this year. Maybe that last cold spell (I’m not falling for the new PC terms yet) will be our last and the robins will start flying a little bit farther north soon.

    I need to put out my yarn scraps so they and other birds can use them in their nests.

    • whimseytopia says:

      There you go again Patti. You always teach me something. I never thought to put out yarn scraps, and it is such a good idea. I feed the crows bread, the songbirds seeds, and I keep a hummingbird feeder going, but never thought to assist with the “housing.” Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

