Learning From WordPress

Malaysia

Malaysia

I have a habit of checking the “hits” on my blog and lately noticed I’m circling 30,000, which is a big deal for me but maybe an eye-roller for you.  I like seeing who’s reading, if not exactly who they are in my subscriber bin, I enjoy identifying the flags on the map.  Malaysia caught my eye this morning because I recognized their flag from all the news about the missing plane.  I wondered why anyone in Malaysia would be reading my silly posts, but I’ll take it as a compliment.

You can’t click on the flags and get information, but you can quickly Google the country and get about as much information as you might need to answer a Jeopardy question.  It’s a pretty flag, not unlike ours, but with a distinct Islamic feel with that moon and starburst.

From this tidbit I went to learn how many countries there are now (they do come and go), and we’re currently at 196.  I’ve been to Scotland and Wales and had no idea they weren’t actual countries.  Much of this is driven by semantics, but technically they aren’t independent.  HERE’s  just one of many sites that gives a breakdown on Scotland.

I used to think that what goes on across either pond meant little to America, but that was before 9-11.  While it can be a bit scary at times, learning about other countries, especially in the Middle East, brings much of what I hear on the news into focus.  No one really believes that the network news is comprehensive or even true, so getting information from a variety of sources has always given me a clearer world view.  I like having both sides to all those stories.

And anyone can start this learning process right here on WordPress in the flag section of the stats!  But beware.  Like the Bing picture and tags that start my every day, you may find yourself on your computer longer than you like.  I consider it brain exercise, but it’s doing very little for my butt.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

