Cat Love

A friend and I went to the local shelter to cop a little cat love.  I’ve been going through withdrawal since the passing of my Bowtie, and though I swore I’d never have another pet, I merely proved what a heathen I am. I’ll never get through this life without another cat.  It’s unnatural somehow for a house to be without one.  It’s difficult for me not to have one to love.

Besides the fact that they kill mice and eat bugs, their main job is to explain the unexplainable noises of a house at night. Now that Bowtie is gone, every little creak and groan wakes me with wonder.  Sometimes I even think I hear her crunching on her dry cat food, and that’s a sound I can no longer explain.

So anyhow, we travel down this nasty road remarking why all shelters must reside on nasty roads, and are surprised to find a humongous new building that looked more like a Hampton Inn than a county animal shelter.  And it got better.  The inside of this place was incredible, with philosophical posters, colorful walls, waiting areas, play areas, high tech computers, and everything was immaculate.  The cages were even cleaner than the floors, and volunteers were everywhere feeding and playing with the pets, removing immediately anything that might cause an odor, and attending to our questions like concierges.

I didn’t find the two kittens that would have caused me to cave.  I’ve been reading that two cats are better than one and kittens are more easily trained than cats.  I always liked being Bowtie’s best friend, but in retrospect I think she would have preferred someone furrier. But the sticker shock is still with me, and I quickly realized why this place was so upscale. Two kittens, fixed and with shots, would have set me back $250.  Ouch.  And while I understand the value of knowing their cats are healthy, vaccinated, and now not part of the problem of cat overpopulation, I also believe that the price would, and more than likely does, inhibit some perfectly worthy cat owners from adopting.  And that’s a shame.  There were a lot of cats in there looking for a home, one of which had been there for 15 months. She’s a calico and beautiful.  I’ve been dreaming about her.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cat Love

  1. Max Cook says:

    “Two kittens, fixed and with shots, would have set me back $250.”

    Wow, that’s a bargain! We took in a stray male older kitten about 2 years ago. The vet bill to neuter him and get him shots was about $350. He promptly came down with feline distemper, a deadly disease which he survived due to the heroic efforts of our vets. They said he was only the 2nd cat they ever managed to save but it took $1100 and a couple of weeks in the hospital. But it was all worth it. Our $1500 cat Louie is such a lover and he has the loudest purr I’ve ever heard!

    Patsye, go get a cat already!
    Max

    • whimseytopia says:

      Hi Max. I’ve been thinking about you lately and wondering how Jolico got through this winter. And, I recall the time, money and love spent through all your dog’s trials and tribulations. Unfortunately, I don’t have that kind of money. But, and this is a joke by the way, if you want to shoot the cash down here, I’ll go out this afternoon and pick up some kittens!!!!

  2. Marie Niesse says:

    Pick up the calico! I am still cat-less, but a sweet calico climbed into my lap yesterday and got me thinking again about cat ownership. 🙂

    • whimseytopia says:

      Well hey! I didn’t know you subscribed, but that doesn’t mean you didn’t tell me. How are you? I think about your sweet kitty all the time. You had the friendliest cat on the planet. We do love our kitties, don’t we. But I was thinking, if you look at the face of the kitty on this blog (something I just found on the Internet), if you took off all that hair and stripes, it would have the composition of a human baby: big eyes, little nose and mouth. Maybe that’s why we’re so attracted to them. I read that they know how but not why a cat purrs. I know. It’s because it attracts us to be with them, love them, hold and cuddle them, and feed them. Cats know what they’re doing. As George Castanza would say, cats have “hand.”

  3. averyclaire says:

    I am not an animal lover, but it is certain that somewhere out there some lovely little kittens are calling you!

    • whimseytopia says:

      Good morning. Yes, probably you are right. But part of me is thinking that I should wait until this house renovation is complete. Bowtie did not like the people running around, or the noise. She’d hide under the bed!

  4. tvkapherr says:

    Go for it! Get the Calico! Or if you live anywhere near Quebec, Canada, my kittens are ready for adoption! 🙂

    • maureenc says:

      Haven’t you learned! You don’t SHOP for a cat, because “somewhere a cat is waiting”! Go back and visit with “calico” and see if she APPROVES of you

      • tvkapherr says:

        Too true. I stand corrected. Dreaming of a cat you met could be a sight of Karma and it is destined. 🙂

      • whimseytopia says:

        Actually she allowed me to hold her, but then got excited about being out of the cage and she needed to walk around on her own. I get it. I would need the same freedom. She was so cute and had a cute gait. Either that or she’s been in the cage too long and needed to stretch her legs. She’s a short kitty, not like not tall, but rather short in length. She’s compact, but hefty. I’m guessing she weighs a good 12-15 lbs, and she needs to get more exercise. Do you have cats?

        • maureenc says:

          Oh YES! My present companion Sam is an Abyssinian. The first pedigree cat who has ever owned me. I have always had street kids until now. After my last two girls (18 and 22 y.o.) went over the Rainbow Bridge a day apart five years ago I swore NEVER again would I have the heart break of saying goodbye. A friend needed a home for Sam. He came for RandR and never went home. My life is richer because of him. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

