Hijacking the Internet

confusionIt has happened so many times in the last couple of weeks, I was beginning to think it might be peculiar to my server, or maybe even my computer.  I’ve gone to look for something, some general piece of information, and the first page of my search is nothing but sites that require membership, either free or for a fee, to access the information.

Want a contractor?  Pay me.  Want to find a good nursing home?  Pay me.  Looking for information about a doctor?  Pay me.  Looking for school information?  Pay me.  How about a phone number? Pay me.  Looking for someone in particular?  Pay me a lot!

Today I was looking for information about the origin of the Easter egg as research for a sweet little post I had planned.  But I found too many different explanations, and decided it was too much trouble.  How would I know which was true? And pop-ups are everywhere; my computer asking me to respond to a request from the site I am on to “track” my location.  Why do they need my location if I can’t see theirs?

Is it me, or does anyone else feel the Internet is getting harder and harder to navigate? There is something fundamentally wrong when a “Pay Me” site can buy its way to the first page with SEO, and we have to dive deeper and deeper to get the information that was placed online for free and access it for free.  Oh well, I guess nothing really good lasts forever.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Whimseytopia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

