The Problem of Good Credit

I’ve spent my entire life getting and keeping a good credit rating.  It is as important to me as my health.  Well almost.  But in being judicious with both my spending habits and the fact that I zero out my one credit card each and every month, the “other” credit companies believe that I am a good risk, and they are willing to spend enormous sums just to woo me into getting their specific cards.  Barclays (MasterCard) is the most egregious of these when it comes to mailing me a fat wad of glossy paper in a fancy envelope on an almost DAILY basis.  Do they think they will brow-beat me into getting their card?  Is it possible I will wake up one day and open my mailbox, see the same old envelope and think:  “Wow, a Barclay’s credit offer!  What a wonderful idea!!!!!  Why haven’t I applied for this before? I’ll run inside, grab a pen and fill this out right now!”

I think it’s unconscionable the amount of paper wasted in this effort.  For God’s sake, if I haven’t gotten their card(s) in all these years, chances are fairly strong I won’t be getting one in the future.  I’ve tried sending them back.  I’ve gone to websites looking for ways to end this intrusive mail, but someone just recently warned me not to as they will inundate my email with the same marketing materials.

If anyone knows of a way to stop this, I’d surely like to know about it.  I’m one of those people who pays attention to obnoxious advertising.  There’s a laundry list of places in my area that I would never patronize because of their incessant ads on TV.  A car company we’ll call Mandy Rarion whose wife and daughters cackle they will “Save You Money” is at the top of that list.  Their ads come at you in salvos.

Oh, I’m such a fuddy duddy, aren’t I.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Problem of Good Credit

  1. 1cardcreator says:

    Hi Patsye, I saw you at Lynne’s blog (Adorn) and decided to come visit. Sorry to see you are on break, but thought I would read anyway. There is a way to get off most of the mailing lists, open one of them and there is a place where they offer for you to “opt out” of future mailings. Or just write Opt out in marker and send it back to them, some will still slip through but it will get rid of the majority. One of the things I miss is the fake credit cards they send with the mailings, they are great for cleaning, removing wallpaper and lots of other things. I keep mine in a box in my kitchen drawer. Enjoy your summer off! ~Diane

    • whimseytopia says:

      Comments come to my personal mailbox, and I find it interesting that I can even take this break but still generate a few visitors. Thanks for your advice. The “opt out” feature on the site did not work. It may be my imagination, but I think it generated more interest in me. And I have returned some of the envelopes, again to no avail. But I’m saving them now, and I’m going to photograph the pile and do a blog post, and send it to them while simultaneously trying to have it published in a newspaper. I’m not on Facebook, but I heard something yesterday that gave me a chill – something about Facebook’s amount of information about it’s billions of users and how they’ve generated this information into a revenue stream that is difficult to fathom. Do people really respond to these ads? Except for Groupon, I respond to nothing, and Groupon for me is a rarity. I’m curious why I don’t get a good response from my attempts to interrupt the flow of junk mail and you did. Perhaps I’m on several computer programs at once. Or maybe third-party marketers buy this information and get a piece of the action if I bite. I don’t know. But now I have a mission, so I don’t mind the mail.

      Thanks for your comments and for stopping buy. I hope you’ll consider subscribing. I’ll be back online by summer’s end.

Leave a Reply

