Time Out

Another busy day in the life of an older woman. So busy in fact that instead of sitting in front of this computer anxious to relieve myself of all my thoughts and feelings, I am almost too tired to type. I want to watch the Red Sox beat Tampa instead. I want to drink a very large glass of ice tea and then take a hot shower. Then I just want to go to sleep.

It’s not that I don’t have things to say, because I do. But looking over the volumes of written but unpublished posts languishing in my holding tank, I see that I have “work” to do to get them in a readable form. (Some of you may be chuckling now since I am not the best of writers, nor the most grammatically correct – so you’re thinking, “What’s my problem? Just click that publish button!”)

I have a friend in Bucks County, Pennsylvania, who took a long break, and now I think I know why. There comes a time, and for me it was hitting that 30,000 click mark and a subscriber base of 133, that I feel I can and should take a break. I deserve it. I’m busy now. It’s that old, “If you’re not busy, you have time to write but little to write about. Conversely, if you are busy you have much to write about, but you’ll have little time to do so.” And right now I’m very busy.

So I will say goodbye for the time being. I’m thinking that I might keep a private journal this summer, something that will require no editing, and maybe this fall take these notes and head in a new writing direction.   I have an interest in writing short stories.  Or maybe something political since some of these mid-term elections are going to get my panties in a knot.  Or I might even go with something comic. Whatever I do, I will let my subscribers know the new blog and hopefully some of you will follow me.

Many of you around the world have my email and home address. To my Australia, Romania, England, Canada, and American friends expect a Christmas card, and let’s stay in touch through email. To everyone else, have a wonderful summer (or winter) and thank you for all your visits.  I hope you’ll miss me as much as I’ll miss you.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Time Out

  1. Sue McB says:

    Your retirement has prompted me out of mine – briefly, to wish you well in your busy and active life. I still have the photo of my initials on that Florida beach, and think of you often. I too have opted out of blogging since the start of the year, just did not feel inclined and life got in the way. I have a new knee that is working well, my house is on the market, and as soon as it sells and I have the cash, my new house will begin. I expect in the meantime I shall need to rent some cheap hovel in which to live until it is completed, and then there will be the task of turning a muddy treeless building site into a pleasant place – perhaps in the time ahead there might be the occasional blog, only time will tell. All the best……

  2. Jill says:

    Good girls keep journals – bad girls don’t have time!
    When blogging starts feeling more like an obligation than a joy, it’s time to take a break. I’m lucky if I post a couple a month any more. Good luck to you!

  3. All the best to you. Keep my name in your records so that I can follow you when you write again. I’m a busy 58-year-old community college composition teacher who can’t wait for the May break. Every minute of my life at home and school I’m reading papers by students, most of whom have not spent sufficient time on them. If I could be free to do what I want now, I’d have the hooked rug shop I’d always dreamed of. I just was certified in a special kind of punch needle rug hooking by my Vermont teacher from a project I started in the summer and finished at spring break! I just want to live long enough to realize that dream or a piece of it. I wish you the very best on your adventures. Marlo Thomas, 76, was just interviewed about a book she wrote about inspiring women. You are surely one of those. Thomas says women can achieve anything at any age. I want that positivity in my own life as I get older. That’s why you have to come back next fall and keep us all going. Thanks.

    • whimseytopia says:

      I am trying to think of a card or letter or any form of compliment I have received in my life that equals your kind comment, and I can’t. When I write these posts I am aware of many of my readers, but that leaves a hundred who I don’t know anything about. I assumed many were just linking or pinning or perhaps subscribing to get a “return click.” That a composition teacher (my FAVORITE class in college) is not just reading my posts, but doing so after enduring the pain of reading examples of how our beautiful language has morphed into something I often find unrecognizable, is, well, blowing my mind. I thank you for this compliment. I will remember it always. I hope you receive my gratitude via this reply, but if you do not, our paths may cross someday anyhow, and here’s why.

      I almost took that very class you spoke about with Amy Oxford. It was last year and I had even paid my tuition. But a friend got sick, very sick, and I made the choice to ride it out with her and take the class at another time. Of course life got in the way again, and again, and I never signed up. Furthermore, I put my designs away and picked up my watercolor brush. That is how I roll. At this age I let happenstance push me from craft to craft, and when I tire of one, I move on to another. Your comment has had the effect of making me want to bring my hooking frame up to the living room. After all, it’s easier to hook while watching baseball than to watercolor.

      I have rugs in Amy’s gallery I would like to point out. I would love to keep our communication open and speak to the joys of both aging with grace and making the most of what life has thrown our way. Serendipity is a wonderful thing. Please write back. Please! Patsye@mail.com

  4. averyclaire says:

    I will miss you Patsye. But it is nice to take a break…I have done so several times. The journal writing sounds relaxing and interesting. I look forward to hearing again from you after your break. Please continue to visit my blog. Hugs!

  5. Mary Jane says:

    I have enjoyed your writing very much. And as a blog writer myself, I recognise your statement that if you are not busy you have little to write about and if you are busy, you have little time. So congratulations on your choice to take a break, even though I will miss your blog. Hope you find creative and rewarding things to do in other directions.

  6. Anonymous says:

    I’ll miss your writings…

Leave a Reply

