Sisyphean

If you subscribe you are probably surprised to hear from me so soon.  But alas, this is merely a break in my break.  However, something so astonishing happened today that I needed the catharsis that only posting can provide.

After getting my car inspected with the intention of paying my registration online, I carefully read my bill and noticed I was being charged $100 extra because I drive a Prius. Apparently the insatiable State of North Carolina is going to assume that all Priuses are all-electric, which they are not, and now I have to go down to the DMV and duke it out with some civil servant while I explain that my Prius is a hybrid (like most Priuses) and should only be charged $50 extra dollars.  And I will mention that I find it incendiary that the bill posts this fee in a smaller font and lighter ink than the majority of the other text, which I believe is a craven, unscrupulous way to dupe me into overlooking it.

How did I get from taxes to Sisyphean?  Well, if you think about it, it’s hardly a stretch. Taxes are the most insidious of all Sisyphean tasks.  The current Rolling Stone has an Al Gore article that addresses a movement to tax those who aren’t using enough electricity because they have incurred the time and expense of adding solar panels to their homes. Several states are adding an extra tax to car registrations for those who pay a premium to drive hybrids and electrics.  Those that aren’t are thinking about it.  So I’m being penalized for being environmentally responsible?  Why isn’t the state paying me to drive my Prius? In a more just and reasonable world they would be.

While I get the concept of taxing what I have, I don’t get the concept of taxing what I don’t have, or don’t use, or don’t want.  How did we jump from taxing the polluters to taxing those who DON’T pollute?  This makes no freaking sense to me.

Look.  Everyone knows I’m a Democrat.  My blogs are dripping with my politics, both blatant and obscured.  But enough is enough. Like plucking chin hairs, a task I once considered the most Sisyphean of my existence (even more than laundry), taxes are never going to stop growing, and unless I die, both will multiply and get more intrusive and unreasonable.  Will this ever stop?

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sisyphean

  1. averyclaire says:

    I can’t believe they are charging you to drive hybrid!!! YOu are right…they should be paying you! What a racket. Our states spend more and more of our money…especially Illinois….and then are broke and are finding more ways to charge us for their spending! Illinois is notorious!

  2. Rose Toubes says:

    Thanks for referencing the Rolling Stone piece by Gore. I get Rolling Stone but didn’t take the time to read that piece even as I read most of the rest of the issue. Now I definitely will. You go girl. How absurd that we have so much red tape and complications to clear up in ordinary life.
    I just was certified by Amy Oxford this past spring so I can teach punch needle in my area. Wish I didn’t have to go back to community college in the fall (my 27th year!) because I’d like to focus on the arts for awhile longer than summer. I love the passion of the arts community. Just finished a “Van Gogh” hooked rug class in Vermont. Drove from Iowa there and back and somehow put 4,000 extra miles on my car. Students in my community college composition classes are required to take my writing courses, and they don’t have enough passion, which brings my spirit down. I want to be a rugmaker for a year. I’m 58, and I hope I’ll have my health when I finally do retire so I can fulfill this dream. I’m off to Nova Scotia in July to meet Kaffe Fassett at Deanne Fitzpatrick’s rug shop in Amherst, Nova Scotia. Anyway, thanks for the message. Anytime you feel like taking another break from your break, I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

