When it’s too hot out…

IMGP4406It has been too hot to play outside the last couple of days, so I’ve taken advantage of this guilt-free indoor time to paint.  I bought a new book off the Internet, Urban Watercolor Sketching: A Guide to Drawing, Painting, and Storytelling in Color by Felix Scheinberger.  I love this book and had fun with my first “very messy” sketch of this green house.  My feeling is that everything is not messy enough and a bit too straight.  I will try to skew things more in my next attempt.

Another instructional book I have lying around is  “Step by Step Watercolor Painting,” by The Alexander Brothers.  While I get what they are trying to achieve, there were too many steps, and my attention span is not that great.  I took off at about step three, but got the gist of the main points:  washes and masking fluid.  Next time I’ll draw my masking areas more carefully.

Watercolor painting requires serious patience.  Whatever made me think I’m suited to this?  I’m not.  I think that’s why things like rug hooking and knitting and hand quilting are so appealing to me – I can go as fast as I want.  Watercolor – not so much.

Even though I’ve been painting with watercolors for several years, progress is slow.  Part of this is because there are so many opinions, so many techniques, and so many different styles to try to master.  What I do know is that I like loose.  In fact, the looser, the better.  And color as bright as can be, though this beach scene, when Photoshopped, looked silly with brighter colors.  So I left it natural, including the dullness of that “natural” Arches paper.  I can’t wait until all that paper is gone so I can start using the “bright white” paper that is so popular now.

IMGP4404

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Painting, Uncategorized, Watercolor, Whimseytopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to When it’s too hot out…

  1. cubbyholes says:

    These are lovely!!! You do such pretty work in all your projects. You would probably love thefrugalcrafter.com . she does a lot of watercolor project videos on YouTube. She does a lot of mixed media also. Her videos are easy to follow along with and she is really entertaining.:-)

  2. I love the painting of the woman and the waves. Beautiful. Unfortunately I haven’t done any watercolors for 30 years.

    • whimseytopia says:

      I didn’t know you did watercolor. I know you work, but you might try my M/O of just pulling out the paints and leaving them in the middle of your life – as motivation. Also, I’m taking a class this summer to prepare for a fall class with a pretty famous painter, Charles Reid.

      • I loved watercolors in high school and majored in art in college. The most expensive part of watercolors was the paper so it was a great medium to take up. I gave all my “good” paper to my daughter when she went to college so I am missing a crucial item in the process. I have so many other projects going on right now that this will have to wait for now.

        Looking forward to hearing about your class with Charles Reid!

        • whimseytopia says:

          I will definitely post daily during the Reid seminar. I understand we’re allowed to bring our camera into class – so I’ll post some pictures too. This daily painting thing will be difficult – I can already tell. But as bad as some of these may be, I’m going to post them anyhow. Maybe the embarrassment of having them on the Net will get me to slow down, stop overpainting, and limit my colors. Would be great if you could post some of your old paintings? Would love to see them. I’m sure watercolors are just ONE of your many talents. (Still dreaming of your front porch!) Patsye

  3. You are really doing well! I use Arches 300 lb. bright white…I know 300 is a little pricey but I buy it in bulk and I find your paint flows so much better. Your Green House is loose and lovely.

Leave a Reply

