Red Ryder Carbine Action 200-shot Range Model air rifle… OR… an uzi? What’s going to be under your Christmas Tree?

Today’s wake-up news was one of those “only-in-America” stories that had me shaking my head.  A nine-year old girl accidentally shot her instructor in the head while being taught how to use an uzi.  The questions brought to mind around this incident are so numerous in both volume and variety, I can only imagine what laws are about to change.  Or then again, maybe none.

America’s fascination with guns could be affected if every person were required to spend a couple of hours in an inner-city hospital.  As an ICU nurse, I have personally seen dozens of cases where the victim was not shot by an intruder, but rather shot by themselves while cleaning, storing, or just showing their guns to others.  And yes, I’ve seen more than two patients who shot themselves in the foot while shoving their guns in their pants or pockets. If you really think this through, they got lucky.

But wait.  I know your retort.  “We need more safety classes.”  Absolutely!  I wouldn’t think of giving my nine-year-old an uzi without one, that is if I had a nine-year-old and/or an uzi, and I had just completed my weekly mental exam and taken all my medication.

Bullets and Burgers.  Garden and Gun (a magazine).  A nine-year-old being taught to shoot an uzi.  What’s next?  Oh, right.  A funeral and a grieving family.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Red Ryder Carbine Action 200-shot Range Model air rifle… OR… an uzi? What’s going to be under your Christmas Tree?

  1. eclecticnatureoflife says:

    Totally agree on this one. Why is a 9 yr old being taught how to shoot an Uzi. Is that necessary.? Why was the instructors hands on the gun with hers as the news reports said is usual. such a tragedy for all .
    what happened to just teaching a kid maybe how to use a BB gun. Safety and all.. I could accept that as that is something that has been taught for decades. I
    If you want to go to a shooting range, why is this not restricted to 12yr and up first of all and only Bb guns and maybe handguns.
    This is scary stuff. I hope parents rethink this as a great Birthday or holiday gift. Get real.
    I do not think it necessary for a child to learn to use a gun. We are not in the wild west.of 1860

    • whimseytopia says:

      There are many people in America who feel we are headed back to 1860 and a lawless out-west, free-for-all way of life. Like the spread of the “stand your ground law” that allows anyone, ANYONE, to shoot first and ask questions later if they feel ‘threatened.”

      The capacity for rational thinking in our society is diminishing. Someone somewhere thought it was OK to hand a 9-year-old a semi-automatic weapon and turn it on. Worse, no one anywhere thought that might be a bad idea. While a few of my friends lack sympathy for the deceased, I weep for both him and his family. Who hasn’t made a mistake? Fortunately my mistakes didn’t involve uzi’s.

  2. Being Canadian I just cannot understand the fascination with guns that seems to be rampant in America. We are not allowed to carry a gun here and if someone has one it is registered and kept under lock and key. I know this doesn’t stop people buying guns illegally but it does keep children from getting one. The shootings in the schools alone should be a wake up call!! I can only shake my head.

    • whimseytopia says:

      I knew I’d get a response from my Canadian and European friends. My dearest friend in Great Britain was unaware that the total death count by firearm for the entire country of his for the year 2012, or was it 2013, was 35. 35!

      From ABC news: “According to the FBI Uniform Crime Report, between 2006 and 2010 47,856 people were murdered in the U.S. by firearms, more than twice as many as were killed by all other means combined.” I can only imagine how high accidental deaths by firearm occurred in the same time period. And let’s not forget, wounding. Those were the patients I saw. It would not be uncommon to care for a teenager who had been shot five, six, or seven times before.

      Sometimes I forget that I know women, actual assumed-to-be-sane women, who walk around with concealed weapons. The paranoia in this country is pervasive and unfounded. The way to exponentially increase your likelihood of being killed by a firearm is to own one. But there is no talking to these people. The indoctrination is far too deep.

Leave a Reply

