Carving Out Time

Sail Loft Door

Sail Loft Door

Someone I greatly admire recently wrote a post (HERE) about not having enough time to paint, and then feeling like she forgot her rhythm, lost her colors, and felt life was getting in the way of her creativity.

Her work is extraordinary, and to my mind everything she paints is exemplary.  But I get what she’s saying.  I’ve had so much going on in my garden, in my house, in my life in general, I feel I’m losing my grip on not just my desire, but my painting acumen.  I’m forgetting fundamental principles.   The brush isn’t comfortable in my hand.  My lines are too jerky or too straight. The papers seem rough. The colors appear so dull I am ready to throw this palette out.  Something is wrong in my watercolor universe.  I think it is my commitment.

English Village

English Village

Even the fastest project takes time.  But I need to carve it out of every single day or I will never progress.  I post these two not because I am proud of them, but rather to remind myself that without that commitment, I’ll never be happy with myself as an artist.  I may never anyhow.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Painting, Uncategorized, Watercolor, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Carving Out Time

  1. Jane Hannah says:

    Do not despair — with practice you will slowly improve. And I already see that you have a good eye-hand coordination, so that is very good!

Leave a Reply

