Dog-A-Day Watercolor: Hound Dog

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

This is the first time I’ve used ink.  No matter how hard I tried, I could not get the black value I was looking for.

NOTE!  Please let me know if these scans are coming in too dark (or too light).  I have noticed that some pictures of art I’ve pulled up from other’s posts are too dark, and now I’m wondering if it’s my monitor.  Thanks.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Painting, Sketching, Watercolor, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Dog-A-Day Watercolor: Hound Dog

  1. tsketching says:

    We had two basset hounds in the past and one of them, Gaja, would look just like this one, great! I like the idea of sketching a dog a day. As far as the scan goes, you could probably get rid of the grays a bit, otherwise it seems ok.

  2. maureenc says:

    Wow Patsye! Your hound is a beauty….you “almost” have stimulated me to try water colours and inks!

    • whimseytopia says:

      Hi Maureen. Perhaps tomorrow’s post will do the trick. I did a wolf today, and honestly, I sketched it in 10 minutes, very loose and impressionistic, but then brought it together with colors similar to the hound and a pen. I used some gouache but no bottled ink. It seems the faster I work, the less tortured the painting looks. Started the painting at 8:15 p.m. and finished at 8:50, and that’s because I had to wait for the darks to dry. Would love for you to take this journey with me. You’re so talented in so many ways; you’d be great, I’m sure. Bottom line, this is a enjoyable as it gets. Patsye

  3. For someone who’s used ink for the first time …. This is BRILLIANT. Ink is such a pain in the you know where, and it can behave really badly. (It’s not got any good manners what-so-ever! tsk tsk)

    I’m loving these dog portraits so very much and found myself looking forward to seeing what delight I was going to find today. Couldn’t wait. (yes seriously.)

    Thank you for sharing your works of heart. love ~ Cobs. x
    P.S. — I know exactly what you mean about ‘black’. There’s black, then there’s Black, and then there’s BLACK. Oh and I nearly forgot BLACKEST OF BLACK BLACK. ;o)

  4. I take pictures of my art with my camera and adjust it on the computer, but it still doesn’t always come out exactly how the painting looks.

    This is so CUTE! I love the dog’s eyes! 🙂

  5. cubbyholes says:

    Perfect on my tablet and comp.

  6. Andrea Scafidi says:

    Getting better

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

