Dog-A-Day Watercolor Mutt

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

 

This started as a value painting, but then I put some gauche in with some old brushes.    Still trying to figure out how to get detail on dog hair without creating dog mud.  Not easy.

Still, he looks friendly, doesn’t he?

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Painting, Sketching, Uncategorized, Watercolor, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dog-A-Day Watercolor Mutt

  1. This one is very much art gallery worthy. I do so hope that you’re selling your fabulous artwork and not keeping it hidden inside a file or folder somewhere. You’re such a fabulous artist and you deserve to be seen.
    love ~ Cobs. x

    • whimseytopia says:

      Alas, no, not yet. I would like to be a dog portrait artist, but I’m still working on my style. There are tons of people online who’ll paint your dog, but there are a lot of dogs around here and their owners would do anything for them; they love them so much. Hopefully having a dog portrait would be one of them, so I’m LEARNING. Not there yet, but you’re sweet to say so. Thanks for all your compliments. Patsye

  2. Zoya says:

    He looks ready to jump out of the page and give someone a huge friendly lick.
    I recently used a fan brush to add some texture to the painting of iris, maybe it could work for painting fur as well?

    • whimseytopia says:

      Whatever fan brushes I have are not working. Too fine. I think I’m going to give up on hair altogether or just paint “some” in with a “0” or “1”. I don’t really know where I’m going with this. Thanks for the tip. Patsye

  3. Anonymous says:

    Definitely friendly

Leave a Reply

