The Real Me Watercolor

Self-portrait #1

Done with a 30-minute timer, I will be doing more until I get this right.

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Painting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Real Me Watercolor

  1. lesliepaints says:

    Wow! I really like this! Great job!

  2. I’m late to the party but this one is my favorite painting so far! I agree with Cobs that you look 20 years younger in the photo. My last self-portrait was 41 years ago when I was in college.
    You should change your gavatar to this photo!

    • whimseytopia says:

      Thanks Patti. Lucky that the camera cut off my chin – that’s where the age is; in my turkey neck. I took the picture the very day I posted this, so it is the most recent photo I have. Lucky shot, I guess. ….I want to see your art. When will you post some???

  3. Zoya says:

    You look beautiful. I haven’t try my hand at self-portrait for ages.

  4. Colorences says:

    I open WordPress and your’s is the first post showing..made me smile. 🙂
    You are totally adorable, both in watercolor and in image.. & yep I’m so very motivated to draw mine now! 😀

  5. At first sight, I thought … OHHH WOW! Is that REALLY our fabulous artist. But when I saw your photo I knew I was ‘nearly’ her, but not quite. You’re less pink and more peach… and you have so much humour in your face too … but most of all … you’re twenty years younger than the painting.

    I love the painting – it’s a fabulous painting. But it’s not a truthful one. It’s telling fiberoonies! 😀

    Sending love, as always ~ Cobs. x

    • whimseytopia says:

      Thank you once again for your wonderful comments. But apparently you didn’t know I’ll be 67 years old on the 15th of this month. Really.

      • Nope, I honestly didn’t. Cross my heart and hope to …. – no, not going to say it because it gives me chills now that I’m closer to the end than I am to the start!

        However … you did surprise me when you told me, and my eyes opened up like saucers! LOL. ~ Cobs. x

  6. maureenc says:

    Some time (far) in the future. lol

  7. Hoping you have fun with it.

  8. Ava Marie says:

    love it. I’m going to try this!

    • whimseytopia says:

      Absolutely try it. I was motivated by another blog with a self-portrait avatar. I did this so quickly, and then did another. I’m going to do several and then post them all at once. Can’t wait to see yours. Patsye

    • maureenc says:

      A few months back I tried a self portrait drawn with my “non-dominant” hand. This looks like a logical next step 😉 I admire your tenacity. Keep going forward Patsye

      • whimseytopia says:

        Thanks Maureen. I’m hooked for sure. I took this photo this morning, and did several little sketches, and a few big ones, with this being the only one I liked. It’s hard to hold a camera and take a pic of yourself, but in retrospect, the closer it was the easier it was to paint. When are you going to show your sketches? Patsye

Leave a Reply

