The Pumpkin Cat

Click to Enlarge The Pumpkin Cat

Click to Enlarge
The Pumpkin Cat

Today is a big day.  We pre-adopted a cat.  Kitty actually.  It’s a he, only two months old, and not ready to leave the adoption center because of a cold.  So we put him on lay-away, as it were, and will wait until next Wednesday for the center to check us out and treat his cold.  All adoptions are contingent, and the final papers won’t be given to us until we complete the shots and have him neutered.

This kitten is one large ball of orange with eyes.  His picture doesn’t do justice to all that hair, though his sister’s pic below is a better depiction.  They are supposed to be medium hair cats, but I don’t think so.  There’s too much fluff to them.  He’s a clinger which surprised us since he was in with his mom.   He’s also about a half-pound heavier than the female.  We thought about taking both since I’m aware of the advantages (and disadvantages) of having two cats.  But in the end we decided on just the boy when we saw them out of the cage and the wildness was almost too much.  They were like The Flying Wallendas and hard to catch.

Yes, I know I will outlive The Pumpkin, but that’s just the nature of having pets.  Come to think of it, it is not written that I will outlive this little guy.  Anyone want to be his “Cat Parent?”  No ceremony involved.

Let the dreams begin.

Click to Enlarge Pumpkin's Sister

Click to Enlarge
Pumpkin’s Sister

 

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Pumpkin Cat

  1. Zoya says:

    He looks adorable. I’m looking forward to seeing more photos and sketches of him

  2. Carol King says:

    Pumpkin is a doll. May you have many, many years of job and happiness with such a cutie. I would be a cat parent but the Husband is allergic and we have a dog.

  3. debmoyes says:

    I agree – he looks like he will be long haired. His sister looks like a Maine Coon Cat which I would love to have! OMG – a kitten. How wonderful. I am jealous. You can’t be without cats. We have had many over the years. The last one to die was Widget, who was 19 and lived in 4 states and 3 countries! I was devastated when she died because it was such a chunk of our lives, but it was only a month to six weeks before we got Jasmine. We like at least two because of the companionship when we aren’t around. We have never had sibs before….I say go for it!

  4. (still catching up with posts) …. OHHH PATSYE!!! {hugging oneself here} He’s adorable! I love ginger cats (and was owned by one once) and he’s just so sweet.

    Like other readers have said … get the two. They’ll be company for each other – and although they’ll encourage each other to be the rascalls they will be, they’ll be such a wonderment to you and reminder of why you love cats. As for the vet bills … take out pet insurance. It’s not that much for young cats, and should you need the use of them you’ll be very grateful for them being there.

    Sending love and hugs ~ Cobs.x

  5. maureenc says:

    Patsye! I’m so happy for you that Pumpkin is coming in to your Nearly eight years ago, when both Cadbury and Possum crossed the Rainbow Bridge within 24 hours of each other , I vowed NO MORE CATS!
    I was in limbo for sometime, then a friend persuaded me to accept Sam. Such a difference to my life….he’s lovable and loving; mischievous and sociable, such a wonderful companion!
    Abyssinians are known for their longevity…he is thirteen years old now; thinks he is still a kitten and knowing how he pines when I’m not around, I hope I outlive him.
    So my friend, savour your new life with Pumpkin.
    Happy happy Thanksgiving from your Aussie online friend.

  6. Don says:

    May Kitty bring you lots of joy.

  7. Dale says:

    Totally agree with Jots! We not only have our fabulous Zeke but we also have Fluffy (the short-haired cat) and when Flower (his sister) disappeared we ended up getting Moondust, a gorgous black-faced, dark-browned body gorgeous… they sleep together, fight together, drive us crazy together… yes.. get the two! 😉

  8. Anonymous says:

    I’ll be its parent, but I need visitation rights!

  9. P. You should take the sister, too. I have two…great company for each other when I need to ignore them. Same amount of”work”…just saying. Good for you for adopting in any event! Happy Thanksgiving! Raye

    • whimseytopia says:

      Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. Almost made spaghetti after seeing that first film. Love how to talk to the camera man. You seem so natural doing this. Are you really trying for a show? I think you’d be great. Patsye

      • Dale says:

        When you have some time, check out the other 4 videos… you tell me if I should! 😉
        I think I would love to have a show! 😉
        And thanks! Dale

  10. Amanda says:

    Love. Love. Love. My next kitty will be an orange tabby. I tried to live without a cat in the house after my last one passed. I missed the energy too much. Adopted a brother and a sister/boy/girl. It’s been about 7 years. My border collie likes to round them up 🙂 I’m so happy for you! Cats are the best.

    • whimseytopia says:

      Hi Amanda: Bowtie died over a year ago. I swore NEVER to get another cat. I was devastated by losing her, as I was losing Cosmo before her. This will be my fourth cat in my lifetime, and I’m hoping he lasts a long time. I’m going to keep him indoors and treat him like the royalty he is. Cats are the best pets. No running home to walk the cat. They tidy up themselves. They don’t smell. And, most importantly, they explain the unexplainable noises of the night. There is a POSSIBILITY we’ll adopt his sister, but we’re talking double the money in vet bills and food, but probably twice the fun. Thanks for commenting. How about some pics of your kitties?

Leave a Reply

