Nappy Cats

 

One of many naps per day.

One of many naps per day.

I took this picture and then howled seeing the red spots on Lucy’s tail.  But in fact they are the pads of The Pumpkin’s feet.

Turns out Lucy loves watching television and chasing the computer mouse across the screen.  The Pumpkin is still exploring, but spends a lot of time in front of the window watching the crows.  Both are the happiest cats I’ve ever known.  They purr if you merely look at them, and they’ve both become lap cats, pushing each other away from the center of my chest.

The funniest event so far was when I was taking a shower last night, I had soap all over my face and I heard a “mew.”  I rinsed my face quickly to see The Pumpkin in the shower with me, not minding at all the spray of water.  I gently lifted him out with my foot (it’s a shower stall, not a tub) only to see him hop right back in.  I finished my shower and then dried us both off with me laughing, him purring, and Lucy looking on.

I promise you I will stop with these daily “catlogs,” but for the next couple of days, please bear with me while I adjust to the joy of this.

 

 

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Whimseytopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Nappy Cats

  1. lesliepaints says:

    Oh. Don’t stop posting about them. Your joy is evident and You are passing it on!

  2. Deb Palmer says:

    Oh, please, don’t stop!!!

  3. perfect time for kittens, they’re so fun with Christmas trees and decorations!! one of ours use to run up the trunk and then back down again – great entertainment!!

  4. maureenc says:

    What a lovely start to my day! I read “nappy cats” and thought “Good grief! They’re not using the litter tray and Patsye has put them in diapers! (we call them nappies down here so you can understand my temporary confusion) Then it hit! You were talking about cats NAPPING!! ROFLM
    Enjoy your days of joy and wonder as the three of you bond….what a lovely Christmas present to the three of you. xxx

    • whimseytopia says:

      I should have known. That’s what they call them in England as well. Yes Maureen, this is a lot of fun and I’m enjoying every minute. It’s a lot of work training them away from cords and things that might hurt them, but they’re both so happy and friendly. Shopped for toys today and they’re now going wild with all the noises these things make. So much fun. I wish they could stay this young forever.

      • Dale says:

        Don’t want to burst your bubble.. but our 5-year old cat STILL chews on earbud cords and other thin charger cords… We have to hide them!

  5. Amanda says:

    They are the cutest things E V E R !
    I may have to stop reading your posts before I find myself at the shelter…
    I will try to live vicariously through you.

    • whimseytopia says:

      You should go get some cats, kittens, dogs, whatever. The shelters are FULL of critters and they need homes. These two are the joy of my life. I can barely get anything done because I can’t leave their side. They are entertaining beyond my wildest dreams, but I also need to keep them safe. I spend the day putting things up or out of the way, covering wires, and watching where I’m stepping. I know this won’t last, and they’ll be grown cats before I know it. Just like kids.

      I’ve always had just one, a singular car, and this is so different. So much more fun. My Bowtie has been gone for over a year, so it was time. They “complete me.”

  6. Dale says:

    No, no! Don’t stop! These are great… A cat wanting to take a shower….;-)

Leave a Reply

