Trying my hand at anything animate.

 

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Watercolor, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Trying my hand at anything animate.

  1. lesliepaints says:

    Oh, I love pencil that shows through watercolor! Homer let his graphite show because he believed it showed some of the entire work of the artist and I like that a lot and often study for tell-tale signs of graphite in any watercolorist’s work. Many of them actually enhance the painting. Erase only those that don’t tell something? It might be because I like line work, also.These goats are so colorful and I love the second one so much because of the color in him or her.

  2. dearmaizie says:

    How wonderful it must be to wake up every day and be able to create like you do. I’m not an envious person, but I think I may start. Thanks for sharing your talent with us every day.

  3. Patsye, I can relate and agree with everything in your first paragraph. All of the above…me, too…Except having cats on my chest. I have a 20 pounder who got that heavy overnight, and a 10 pounder who whines loudly at…most everything. To have them on my chest would render me unconscious…which some would say is my “normal” state of living.
    Let me tell you…I’m not more of a “skilled” artist than you. I’m a beginner just like you who struggles everyday with the mental concept….to all the in-between angst…to what I would consider “finished” enough to keep out of the rubbish bin. I think about my drawings so hard and long…it hurts. Getting a drawing off the table is a celebratory fete similar to the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. In fact…I’m staging two parades very soon and then will probably relapse into that unconscious state I spoke about earlier…
    I so look forward to your posts. Raye

  4. Dale says:

    I love this.
    You two ladies are sooooo talented!

  5. Patsye,
    Do you do any light pencil sketching first or do you just lay in the colour? The bottom Billy is marvelous! Yours are so…..F-R-E-E- flowing. Mine? Not so much. I like how you do what you do. Raye

    • whimseytopia says:

      Good Morning Raye. Thank you. Actually I’m very heavy-handed with my sketching first, and need to be more careful which pencil I pick up to draw with because the other day I somehow used a pencil that didn’t erase. After paint is dry I erase what I can see, but often miss a lot. I spend far more time on the sketches than the paint. I often do contour drawings (one of the things I learned in Charles Reid’s class this fall). But I am very ADD and must work quickly or I’ll overdo and mess things up, which I normally do anyhow. I need to stop sooner, if you know what I mean. My paintings get more intuitive every day (remember, I’m pretty new at this), and I’m trying to spend at least two hours a day sketching and painting, a difficult task with Lucy and The Pancake on my chest.

      I think you are more of a skilled artist. Your corn painting can be brought to mind in an instant without my looking at it. The purple! YOU are the best! And I wish you’d paint and post more. Patsye

Leave a Reply

