Trash Can Cats

IMGP4984

Following the advice of numerous cat-rearing blogs, I am allowing Lucy and The Pumpkin out of the bedroom and into the rest of the house for about an hour a day.  (Remember, this bedroom is about 25′ X 25′; hardly a small space.)  I call the long hall from one to the other “Runway Niner” because of how fast, almost to the point of liftoff, they run down it when I open the door.

Lately I’ve been surprised at how the frenzy of their freedom has diminished.  The first time they were uncatchable.  But each day thereafter, they calm quicker and have now taken to exploring all the nooks and crannies that are their new home.  I give them this time not just to broaden their life experiences, but to get to the point when they near their first birthday and they will be given free rein; hopefully trained enough to behave themselves.  HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! HA!   …Who am I kidding?!

The Pumpkin and I took a ride to the vet yesterday for this sneezing which is not responding to the L-lysine.  We came home with a script and a flea.  Good grief.  I couldn’t catch that flea, so it was back to the sink again for another Dawn bath.  Poor pitiful Pumpkin. He can’t catch a break – and neither can I.

They don’t seem to be interested in the two notes I’ve learned on the violin.  Guess I’ll have to sing along while I practice.  My neighbors should love that.

 

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trash Can Cats

  1. ntexas99 says:

    Cats have a way of discovering every sort of hiding place. When my boys were younger, they always had cats (and dogs) and I can remember finding cats in the strangest of places. Once we couldn’t find one of them, and searched high and low, finally finding him tucked behind the clothes dryer, apparently snuggled up to the vent hose, keeping warm.

    Another time, we had a house fire, and managed to get both dogs and one cat out safely, (and all the people), but we couldn’t find the second cat, no matter how diligently we searched. We were devastated, and sadly felt sure he had either succumbed to smoke inhalation, or had died in the fire. Two days later, we found him alive, inside a metal filing cabinet. To this day, we have no idea how he got in there, but he survived. His name was Grady, but we always called him Houdini after that house fire.

    • whimseytopia says:

      Well that’s a lucky cat. And THANK YOU!!! for reminding me to put stickers on my doors “in case of a fire” letting the firemen know there are two cats in the house. Have you seen those? I had a fireman friend who once told me that they’ll dedicate one of their team to look for the animal(s) if they see one of those stickers. That’s pretty heartwarming.

      • ntexas99 says:

        I knew about the stickers in the general sense, (having heard about them before), but have not actually seen one. I should put that task on my “to do” list, as I currently have two dogs that keep me company, and it would be nice to have the peace of mind of knowing that if a fire were to occur, especially when I am away from home, that the firemen would know there were two dogs inside. Thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

